The Fox, Robin, and Squirrels

By Shirley Remmenga of Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.  1 Corinthians 1:3

I walked along a trail at dawn. I flung my arms wide, breathed deeply, and stepped with energy. I love to walk, especially early in the morning. This walk was a great one because it was full of surprises.

The leaves on the trees were just beginning to turn color. A mature fox ran across my path, and farther along a younger fox waited for me. He didn’t trot away until I was within a couple of yards.

A robin, dressed in her bright red vest, was searching for worms and was not alarmed as I drew near. In fact, she never flew away as I passed her along the trail.

Before I reached home, I watched two squirrels playing tag on the grass, and then they scurried off to the treetops, where they continued to play. I was elated to have had such an energizing, delightful walk and was ready for whatever the day would bring.

God has created an awesome world that is so visible in nature. How blessed I am to have a place to walk, the time and the health to walk. Thank you, Creator God!

Prayer for Peace:

God of grace and peace, Creator of all we behold, pull us from our busy lives to rejoice in and appreciate your creation. As we enjoy peace of mind, may we share Christ’s peace with the world.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Embodying God’s Shalom

Each day this week find a way to express and embody God’s shalom. Begin by prayerfully listening to your longing for peace. Become silent and imagine you can hear the groaning of the Earth’s peoples, nations, and creatures. Prayerfully open yourself to God’s yearning for peace and the divine vision of shalom.

What images, feelings, and words come to you? What prayer for peace comes to you from your time of listening? Speak or write this prayer. What small act of justice, kindness, healing, or peacemaking is God inviting you to consider this day, this week?

Peace Covenant:

Today, Creator, I will use my senses to know your presence.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Peace, Shalom, Salaam | New Heaven on Earth!

Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,080 other followers

