My Life Flows on in Endless Song

By Evelyn Richardson of Nauvoo, Illinois, USA

Therefore my people shall know my name; therefore in that day they shall know that it is I who speak; here am I. How beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of the messenger who announces peace, who brings good news, who announces salvation, who says to Zion, “Your God reigns.” Listen! Your sentinels lift up their voices, together they sing for joy; for in plain sight they see the return of the Lord to Zion.  Isaiah 52:6–8

Some days I find myself humming a hymn, not even realizing I am doing it. It may be that I’m focused on some need or worry in my life. When “light” finally dawns on me, I realize the hymn is the answer to my current concern.

For example, I was worrying about singing for church one Sunday. As I fretfully prepared that morning, I suddenly realized the hymn I was humming was “He Leadeth Me.” As I continued preparation to leave for church, I prayed for God’s guidance and presence that day. Another hymn, from times past, started running through my mind, “No never alone—he promised never to leave me—never to leave me alone.”

If you find your mind wandering into song, stop and listen. It may be the Holy Spirit touching your heart through the words of a hymn.

I hope and pray that I may become more sensitive to the leadings of the Holy Spirit as it comes to my mind in the words of a song. How can I keep from singing?

Prayer for Peace:

God who speaks to us today, open our ears to hear you. Be in our voice that we might sing for joy. Open our eyes that we may see the way to peace.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Offering Blessings of Community

Each day this week receive and share blessings of community. Begin with a prayer of gratitude for the network of relationships in your life. See and feel connections with family members, spiritual friends, people in your congregation and community, people and creatures in God’s sacred web of life.

What blessings are flowing to you from these circles? Reflect, pray, and write in your journal about the call to be “Community of Christ.” Go deeper each day as you “discern and embrace” the “divine blessing” of this name that opens you to “become a blessing to the whole creation” (Doctrine and Covenants 163:1). What act of blessing are you invited to complete?

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will be the messenger who announces peace.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Mary Chandler

     /  6 March 2012

    A gteat way to start myday

  2. Margaret

     /  6 March 2012

    i had goosebumps as I read this Daily Bread devotion, before I got to the end of the article, I was humming the words “my life flows on in ceaseless praise; how can I keep from singing”

Comments

