God’s Music Flows

 By Karen Hutchinson of Loveland, Colorado, USA

Let me hear what God the Lord will speak, for he will speak peace to his people, to his faithful, to those who turn to him in their hearts.  Psalm 85:8

I’ve always wondered who else lives with a song running through their head. I always hear some song in my soul. It can be old camp songs, children’s songs, classical pieces I’ve sung, old or new hymns, folk songs. You name it, I hear it. (Right now it’s “Old mother Leary left the lantern in the shed.”) I can almost tell what my mood is by what I’m hearing. It’s something I value and enjoy greatly.

Music has always underwritten my life. I grew up singing and have continued loving to sing, listen, and just enjoy the gift of music. It almost defines who I am. It strengthens and enlivens me daily.

For all of my 70 years it has been a ground for my life. It has become an integral part of who I am. What a joy!

I have accepted music as my personal gift from a Creator who loves me and wants me to enjoy life to the fullest.

The God who encourages me to sing, listen, and participate also has given me the beautiful world we live in. I have a great family that daily blesses me. I have great friends with whom I can share my life. Through music I can connect in astonishing ways to those who need me.

Another personal gift I receive daily, if I listen, is God’s divine Spirit. I feel God’s presence flowing through me like music. This is when I most feel at peace.

Prayer for Peace:

We turn our hearts to you, O God, and we listen to the peace that you speak. May we always speak this peace to one another.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Caring for God’s Sacred Creation

Each day this week choose a way to notice, give thanks, and care for God’s sacred creation. Prayerfully consider one of the following suggested practices or create your own.

Walk in nature with a spirit of gratitude and “holy attention.” Write a psalm of praise for the beauty of the Earth or a prayer of healing and blessing for the wounds of the Earth. Learn about and engage in an act of Earth-keeping such as recycling, simple living, fasting from over-consumption of resources. Notice the unique diversity of the planet’s creatures and be gentle to plants, animals, trees, and people! Fall in love with the vast, intricate wonder of God’s creation and give thanks.

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will listen for your voice. I will listen for your music in my soul. I will listen to the music of others.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Lucienna Jones

     /  27 March 2012

    Thank you for your story about music in your life.Music has been a big part of my life for many years. Like the hymn says” My life Flows on in endless song. How can I keep from singing?” I have been involved in church music since age 12. It moves my soul and is in my heart and mind as I share with others. i thank God for the gift.

  1. A Prayer for the Eyes of God « jodiebethinhercrystalroom

Comments

