Invitation to Spiritual Renewal

By Joann Condit of Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Be still, and know that I am God!  Psalm 46:10

It was late in the afternoon of a retreat in the Arizona mountains, and I was tired—physically, mentally and spiritually. I had no heart for journal writing, meditating, or praying. I sat, chin on my hand, staring at a torrent of rain. Slowly the downpour eased to a drizzle. The trees dripped, stirred by a soft breeze. I brooded.

At a soft pat on the shoulder, I looked up and saw my daughter and grandson, jackets and hair damp with rain, motioning conspiratorially to follow them outside. We walked silently to the road, down a hill, and around a bend, stepping over rivulets in the wet soil. They stopped, pointing with triumph toward the trees.

Tiny streams cascaded over rocks, loud in the silence. Suddenly I saw them…mushrooms! Hundreds of mushrooms dotted the hillside. Even as we watched, a giant red-capped one arose visibly, a mat of needles crowning its head like a shaggy wig.

From the miniature to that huge one, they rose in new life. The rain liberated them. We stared, mesmerized.

We returned to the building in silence, under watery sunshine. Fatigue gone, my heart and soul clean and filled with life. I sat down to express my gratitude. I wrote my thanks to God for Laurie and Stephen, their kindness in sharing, for eyes to see miracles, for renewal of body, mind, and soul found in a hillside of mushrooms, and for sunshine after rain.

And, oh yes…thank you for making me know you are God!

Prayer for Peace:

For refreshing of the spirit, for renewal of our bodies, for the sunshine after rain, we praise you, divine Creator.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Caring for God’s Sacred Creation

Each day this week choose a way to notice, give thanks, and care for God’s sacred creation. Prayerfully consider one of the following suggested practices or create your own.

Walk in nature with a spirit of gratitude and “holy attention.” Write a psalm of praise for the beauty of the Earth or a prayer of healing and blessing for the wounds of the Earth. Learn about and engage in an act of Earth-keeping such as recycling, simple living, fasting from over-consumption of resources. Notice the unique diversity of the planet’s creatures and be gentle to plants, animals, trees, and people! Fall in love with the vast, intricate wonder of God’s creation and give thanks.

Peace Covenant:

God, I will rise up from my brooding and look for the sacred places of liberation and new growth.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. SW

     /  28 March 2012

    Thank you for making Daily Bread available on-line. Thank you Joann.

  2. Lucienna Jones

     /  28 March 2012

    Joann,
    You continue to inspire me,

Comments

