Blessed Is He Who Comes in the Name of the Lord

By Kris Judd of Kansas City, Missouri, USA

But Jesus said, “Let her alone; why do you trouble her? She has performed a good service for me. For you always have the poor with you, and you can show kindness to them whenever you wish; but you will not always have me…Truly I tell you, wherever the good news is proclaimed in the whole world, what she has done will be told in remembrance of her.”  Mark 14:6–7, 9

Jesus told his followers what eventually would be the result of his bold ministry. They did not want to believe it and even tried to talk him out of it. But he knew the truth and prepared himself for what would not be a desirable event. His life of study, prayer, and ministry required him to release and let go, to remain focused on and connected to his mission, not himself.

I once accepted an assignment to speak in a congregation. While I prepared through study and prayer, and received a good theme to work with, I struggled with my message. I wrote it in notes and then in pages and was ready to offer what I had prepared.

Yet I worried about what I would say, how I would be received, if I would offer what was needed. As I stood to speak, I placed my notes aside and spoke from my heart, going in a different direction but trusting that God was leading my thoughts and words. I let go of my needs and focused on what I perceived God wanted to share with God’s people.

For Jesus, it was in his ability to see beyond himself and his needs that allowed him to see the needs of God’s people. Author Sogyal Rinpoche (Glimpse after Glimpse) said, “Although we have been made to believe that if we let go we will end up with nothing, life reveals just the opposite: that letting go is the real path to freedom.” Blessed be the One who found that freedom by letting go and who shows us the path, as well.

Prayer for Peace:

God of freedom-giving grace, help us let go of our organized, preplanned, strategized, conformed traditions and open us to receive your spontaneous Spirit and guidance. Help us discern the needs of the people of the moment amid which we find ourselves.

Spiritual Practice for the Holy Week:

Prayerfully ponder the life of Christ. Spread your hands up and apart to release things that prevent you from holding Christ at the center of your life. Thank God for Christ who fills and feeds our spirit. Pray for a generous heart and open hands that reach out to make room for all in the circle of Christ’s community.

Peace Covenant:

I will remember the woman who served you, God, and I will serve the poor among us now.

Leave a comment

Comments

