Approaching the Resurrection

By Alecia Cripps of Independence, Missouri, USA

Support one another in love, confident that my Spirit will be with you even as I have gone before you and shown you the way.  Doctrine and Covenants 154:7b

It was a brilliant Sunday morning, and light flooded through the stained-glass windows. I had been on the run since entering the building. Now it was time to slow down, go into the sanctuary, and begin the morning meditation.

As I sat on the rostrum, looking at the congregation, I sensed the presence of the Spirit. I sensed God already had enfolded this congregation in infinite love, light, and caring. I enjoyed those few moments of meditation before beginning the service because I had a chance to stop, look at the faces of those sitting in the sanctuary, and pray for individuals and the community.

As I prayed, I noticed a visitor. It was a friend from long ago. Because of unfortunate events we had become estranged. Through the years I often had prayed for reconciliation, but it was elusive. Finally, I had released my struggles, placing them in God’s hands.

As I looked at my friend, the pain was again fresh. But in the comfort of the presence of God I felt a soothing calm. I sensed God’s wonderful humor as God said, “You asked for reconciliation. I’m just answering your prayers.”

In this Easter season, the power of the resurrected Christ comes alive again. For, you see, it was the resurrected Christ, the Christ who lives and transforms lives today, that met me in the sanctuary that beautiful Sunday morning.

Prayer for Peace:

Reconciling God, we sense your presence among us. We are thankful for the many forms in which you respond to our prayers. Thank you for returning relationships for renewed opportunities to mend. Be with us as we work on interpersonal, as well as international peace.

Spiritual Practice for the Holy Week:

Prayerfully ponder the life of Christ. Spread your hands up and apart to release things that prevent you from holding Christ at the center of your life. Thank God for Christ who fills and feeds our spirit. Pray for a generous heart and open hands that reach out to make room for all in the circle of Christ’s community.

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will work on mending an estranged relationship.  

Leave a comment

Comments

