Journey of Resurrection

By Harriet White of Ogden, Utah, USA

I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but it is Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.  Galatians 2:19–20

The first year I decided to purposely prepare for Passion Week, I used Megan McKenna’s books to help me in my focus. I was faithful in my daily reading, meditation, and prayer. During Easter break I flew to Kentucky, a yearly pilgrimage to a restored Shaker village, to spend time for spiritual reflection.

While on the flight, in the daily selection for Holy Thursday, McKenna told the story of Jesus washing the disciples’ feet. I had read the account often. Still, imagine my surprise when McKenna’s telling of the story pierced my soul with new awareness. My thoughts tumbled: “Judas was present at the foot washing. Christ knew Judas would betray him. Christ washed the betrayer’s feet.

In startled understanding, the Spirit’s words flowed through my mind. “Can you wash the feet of those who betray you?” God was calling me to transformation. It was the beginning of a process of healing past hurts, yet equally important, the beginning of Easter resurrection in my life.

The week before Easter provides us with an opportunity to enter Christ’s resurrection in a personal way.

The journey isn’t always easy.

What may help in committing to the journey, perhaps, is the sheer expectation, the joy of knowing our old ways will be crucified with Christ, and we will be resurrected as new creations.

Prayer for Peace:

Giver of eternal life, live in me. Open my soul to Christ’s sacrificial love. Love through me. Allow me to enter Christ’s resurrection and create in me a new person of peace and shalom. As it is with Christ, let it be in me.

Spiritual Practice for the Holy Week:

Prayerfully ponder the life of Christ. Spread your hands up and apart to release things that prevent you from holding Christ at the center of your life. Thank God for Christ who fills and feeds our spirit. Pray for a generous heart and open hands that reach out to make room for all in the circle of Christ’s community.

Peace Covenant:

I will wash the feet of past hurts with forgiveness.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. God will transform you! « master of life in earth, sky and sea

Comments

