God Is with Us through Highs and Lows

By Karen Hutchinson of Loveland, Colorado, USA

Finally, brothers and sisters, farewell. Put things in order, listen to my appeal, agree with one another, live in peace; and the God of love and peace will be with you. Greet one another with a holy kiss. All the saints greet you. The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, the love of God, and the communion of the Holy Spirit be with all of you.  2 Corinthians 13:11–13

The year 2010 was one of the most-difficult years I have lived. The highs and lows were extreme. I turned 70, and I struggled with that.

I am the oldest of four sisters. Early in the year doctors diagnosed one sister with pancreatic cancer. As she died, another sister was diagnosed with stage four lung cancer.

She is one of the 20 percent of lung-cancer patients who never have smoked, or even been around second-hand smoke. I felt this was unfair.

I never lived with such a feeling of total sorrow and loss as I felt in April and May. But at the time of this deep grief, our granddaughter was preparing for her wedding, and my husband and I were planning a trip for our 50th anniversary. Good friends shared with me in joys and sorrows.

I have never known what will be next in my life. Sometimes I wish I could live only with those high points, but that has never been the truth of life. This year made that point come into sharp focus. If I am honest with myself, I know my life needs to have both those highs and lows. That I can make it through reminds me I am a loved daughter of God.

I still grieve for my sisters, but I remember the good times. I love watching my granddaughter and her new husband as they establish their family. Life becomes enriching and joyous when I find the perspective of being loved. I am blessed!

Prayer for Peace:

God of love and peace, we bless you for your holy communion with us. We would live in your peace and bless one another in peace.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Honoring the Worth of All Persons

Read Psalm 139:13–18. Sit quietly and let the deep meaning of the words sink into your mind, heart, and body. What thoughts and feelings do you have about being “fearfully and wonderfully made” (Psalm 139:14a)?

Sense the intimate knowledge God has of you and every child ever born. Ask God for an awareness of the sacred worth of each person. Weep with God over the soul-wounding forces and events that rob people of dignity and worth. How are you being invited to notice, protect, heal, and affirm the spiritual identity of all God’s beloved people today? Pray for God’s compassion.

Peace Covenant:

Today God, I will live through the lows in my life, remembering the highs will come. I will build up my compassion in this way.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. God Is Great « bummyla

Comments

