Light up My Life

By Cindy Korf of North Platte, Nebraska, USA

“You are the light of the world. A city built on a hill cannot be hid. No one after lighting a lamp puts it under the bushel basket, but on the lampstand, and it gives light to all in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father in heaven.”  Matthew 5:14–16

I have a box of candles in my cupboard to use if the electricity goes off. However, I have never lit them. Even though I have candles, without a flame they give no light.

At times I am like those candles. I think that I am a “light” to the world, but I have no flame. I go through the motions of being “good” and thinking I am doing what I am supposed to do, but in actuality, I am just an unlit candle sitting in the box.

Without the spirit of Christ sparking my flame, the “light” is hidden, covered under a bushel basket.

To light my candles, I need a flame. To light my life, I need Christ, who causes my light to shine for others.

Prayer for Peace:

God of light, shine through us. Help us to stay luminous with your Spirit brightly glowing in our everyday tasks. May our beam be held high so your glory will be known. May we be filled with Christ-like radiance and illuminate the way to peace.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Embodying God’s Shalom

Each day this week find a way to express and embody God’s shalom. Begin by prayerfully listening to your longing for peace. Become silent and imagine you can hear the groaning of Earth’s peoples, nations, and creatures. Prayerfully open yourself to God’s yearning for peace and the divine vision of shalom.

What images, feelings, and words come to you? What prayer for peace comes to you from your time of listening? Speak or write this prayer. What small act of justice, kindness, healing, or peacemaking is God inviting you to consider this day, this week?

Peace Covenant:

I will not hide your light, God. I will let it shine brightly in my life.

Leave a comment

Comments

