My Foundation

By Linda Lyons of Kansas City, Kansas, USA

Mark the blameless, and behold the upright, for there is posterity for the peaceable.  Psalm 37:37

My daughter called early one morning and said her car was acting up. She wanted to know if I would take her to work. Sure, what are mothers for? When I picked her up in the afternoon, I realized I was low on fuel. I had just had rotator cuff surgery, so I asked her to pump the fuel. Her workplace was in a rough neighborhood.

As she pumped, the store clerk came running out saying we had not paid. Yet, we used a credit card and thought we had already paid. The clerk said he put the wrong pump number in the register, and we got the fuel before the credit card had registered. But we had no way to know that. We were worried we might be charged twice.

We went into the store to work the problem out. One thing led to another, and soon the clerk was shouting at us, claiming we had stolen the fuel. A woman tried to give me the money, saying “Please give him this and get out of here.” She feared for our safety.

My daughter and I stayed calm and called the police to help us sort things out. We wanted to make peace with the clerk. The customer-service representative from the credit card company was not helpful.

The next day, as the police suggested, I confirmed that the card had been accessed but not charged. My daughter, my husband, and I went back to the station and paid the clerk the money owed.

Several days later a friend asked if I was scared. I thought about it and, said, “No, I was never afraid because I knew God was with us.” My friend said I have the right foundation.

Prayer for Peace:

Foundation of our strength, may we always be aware of your presence. May we be cautious, but not fearful. May we practice peace wherever we find ourselves.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Embodying God’s Shalom

Each day this week find a way to express and embody God’s shalom. Begin by prayerfully listening to your longing for peace. Become silent and imagine you can hear the groaning of Earth’s peoples, nations, and creatures. Prayerfully open yourself to God’s yearning for peace and the divine vision of shalom.

What images, feelings, and words come to you? What prayer for peace comes to you from your time of listening? Speak or write this prayer. What small act of justice, kindness, healing, or peacemaking is God inviting you to consider this day, this week?

Peace Covenant:

God, I will trust in you and look to you for my strength.

Leave a comment

Comments

