Reconciliation

By Flo McDonald of Lee’s Summit, Missouri, USA

If it is possible, so far as it depends on you, live peaceably with all.  Romans 12:18

I met Sean one day when I took my morning walk in a new neighborhood. He greeted me with a smile and told me his name. He often waited for me to walk by and was a friendly little fellow.

He liked to knock on my door and just stand there. I learned from his mother that he missed his own grandmother, who lived far away in Massachusetts. I invited him to come in and asked what he would like to do. I didn’t know what to expect. He usually pointed toward the electric typewriter. He was very careful and typed in his own fashion.

Years went by, and Sean grew up. His mother became ill. I visited her often in her home and later in the nursing home before she passed away. I tried to keep in touch with Sean, but he did not respond.

Some time later I attended a neighborhood block party, and Sean was there. He approached me in a straightforward manner and asked why I was unhappy with him. I was unaware he felt that way. We talked, came to an understanding, and parted friends again.

I was impressed that he made an effort to find out what was amiss. I am convinced the Spirit of God rested on us so we could make our relationship right.

This is the way of Christ so we might be reconciled one to another.

Prayer for Peace:

God of all friendships, guide us with your Spirit to reconciling ministry. Open our hearts to see the perspective of others. May we be at peace with one another.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Welcoming Unity in Diversity

Each day this week meditate on unity in diversity. Prayerfully read Doctrine and Covenants 163:8c, which calls “the entire church to become a sanctuary of Christ’s peace, where people from all nations, ethnicities, and life circumstances can be gathered into a spiritual home without dividing walls.”

Create a large circle with your arms. See and feel the diverse people God invites inside the sanctuary of Christ’s peace represented by this circle. Who is easiest to welcome? Whom do you struggle to include? Confess the dividing walls between you and people too different or “dangerous” to invite into your spiritual home. Ask God to forgive and heal barriers that keep you and others from being one in Christ’s peace.

Peace Covenant:

As much as it is my power, God, I will live peaceably with all.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Comments

