Go to Camp, See the Ramblers, Get a Job

By Jim Holloway of Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

The Lord is exalted, he dwells on high; he filled Zion with justice and righteousness; he will be the stability of your times, abundance of salvation, wisdom, and knowledge; trust in the Lord is the key to this treasure.  Isaiah 33:5-6

In the summer of 1984 I was laid off my job at a construction company in Midland, Michigan. After being off work about a month I went to Iowa to take care of some business that would give us more living money. My wife, Sue, was off to three youth camps. I told her I was going to stop in Chicago and look for a job.

I stayed with friends, Jim and Hazel. After three days and about 20 stops to leave résumés without a single interview, I became discouraged. I returned to Jim and Hazel’s in a depressed mood.

Hazel said, “Jim, we were thinking of going to family camp tonight.” I replied with little enthusiasm, “Who is preaching?” Hazel said, “No preaching. The Graceland Ramblers, a group of young people from Graceland College in Lamoni, Iowa, are coming to sing.”

My Lamoni roots lit up my mood like a Christmas tree as I responded, “Great!”

We got to the campground, had supper, found our seats, and waited for the concert. I felt like my prayers were answered. A man who worked for a telecommunications company came down the row where I was sitting and started talking to me.

Hazel said, “Jim, tell him you are here looking for a job.” The next day, I had three interviews, and within six weeks, I was working for his company in Nashville, Tennessee.

Thank you to those members of the 1984 Graceland Ramblers for helping me get a job, simply by going to the family camp. I feel I always can trust in God and God’s children, even when things look discouraging. God offers stability.

Prayer for Peace:

God of wisdom, we exalt you for your presence in our lives. We thank you for your disciples who influence and encourage us. May we reach out to others and do the same.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Welcoming Unity in Diversity

Each day this week meditate on unity in diversity. Prayerfully read Doctrine and Covenants 163:8c, which calls “the entire church to become a sanctuary of Christ’s peace, where people from all nations, ethnicities, and life circumstances can be gathered into a spiritual home without dividing walls.”

Create a large circle with your arms. See and feel the diverse people God invites inside the sanctuary of Christ’s peace represented by this circle. Who is easiest to welcome? Whom do you struggle to include? Confess the dividing walls between you and people too different or “dangerous” to invite into your spiritual home. Ask God to forgive and heal barriers that keep you and others from being one in Christ’s peace.

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will listen for you, trust in your wisdom, and apply it to my life.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. mike king

     /  10 May 2012

    Thank you for the daily reminders to think and find time to touch the spirit……Mike

Comments

