Mutual Friends

By Ken Hall of Renton, Washington, USA

Let us then pursue what makes for peace and for mutual upbuilding.  Romans 14:19

Recently I rediscovered one of my best friends from high school. There had been three of us back then, called by some the “Three Musketeers.” We did everything together—hiking, hunting, and fishing. We took the same classes. We daydreamed together.

After high school we went our separate ways. One went to college, and one joined the military. I worked for a year and then joined another branch of the military. We may have seen one another once or twice at first, but we became busy with our own careers.

After I retired from the military, I discovered one of my friends had medical problems. After a few years in and out of hospitals he passed away. I never again heard from my other friend. I went to my 50th high school reunion. I learned that about 20 percent of my graduating class already had passed away. I thought my best friend might have been among them because the graduating committee couldn’t locate him.

Five years later my wife went to the graduating class website, and with a few phone calls I found my long-lost best friend, David. We lived only about 20 miles from each other, as we had for about 42 years.

After 55 years we met again. What a glorious day it was! We shook hands and hugged as our wives looked on. Tears came to our eyes.

We are now renewing our friendship, recounting those wonderful days of youth, and looking forward to good days. The reunion was spiritual and social. It was good to be uplifted by and to uphold my friend. I thank God for friends.

Prayer for Peace:

God, thank you for bringing friends into our lives. Thank you for places where we can make lasting friendships. Help us venture to make new friends.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Welcoming Unity in Diversity

Each day this week meditate on unity in diversity. Prayerfully read Doctrine and Covenants 163:8c, which calls “the entire church to become a sanctuary of Christ’s peace, where people from all nations, ethnicities, and life circumstances can be gathered into a spiritual home without dividing walls.”

Create a large circle with your arms. See and feel the diverse people God invites inside the sanctuary of Christ’s peace represented by this circle. Who is easiest to welcome? Whom do you struggle to include? Confess the dividing walls between you and people too different or “dangerous” to invite into your spiritual home. Ask God to forgive and heal barriers that keep you and others from being one in Christ’s peace.

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will contact a friend I haven’t seen in awhile.

Leave a comment

Comments

