Sing at the Top of Your Lungs

By Mary Humphrey of Independence, Missouri, USA

Make a joyful noise to the Lord, all the earth; break forth into joyous song and sing praises. Sing praises to the Lord with the lyre, with the lyre and the sound of melody. With trumpets and the sound of the horn make a joyful noise before the King, the Lord.  Psalm 98:4–6

Last summer I went to Middle School Camp at Lake Doniphan. I remember I felt close to God many times. Two of my fondest memories of that closeness were on walks where we could reflect, pray, and just have some time with God.

The first walk was called the walk of faith. On the walk of faith, we were led outside and blindfolded. We then walked over and around many obstacles as if in the dark of night. The only thing guiding us was a rope. I found God in this activity because we realized God is always there—even when we couldn’t see the barriers and obstacles. God kept us safe that entire journey, and for that, I grew in God.

The second walk did not have a name, but it was just as memorable. We had our campfire, starting with the usual silly, fun songs and skits. Then it got serious. Everyone sang at the top of their lungs, praising God. Then, as a cabin group, we were led to talk to one of the pastors for a prayer before we were sent to the woods with only a candle in our hands.

As I walked, I thought about whom I was living my life for.

Was it for me? If not, who? Then I realized it was God. God is the one I want to live my life for. God gave me my life, my breath, and the place I live. I walked off that trail, crying, and I was greeted by people who love me, people who God put there for me.

So, thank you, God.

Prayer for Peace:

Can you hear our joyful noise, Lord? We want you to hear how loved we feel; how much we love you. Thank you for your guidance on the path to peace.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Growing a Gracious, Generous Heart

Each day this week open your heart to God’s grace and generosity with a “breath prayer.” Let your breath slow and deepen. Be aware of God’s breath moving in and out of your heart. Spend several minutes focusing on breathing in God’s generosity.

With each breath, silently name one gift for which you are thankful. “God, I breathe in the gift of  ______ with thanks.” Let your heart expand to contain God’s gracious outpouring. With each breath out, name one gift you want to share out of the overflow of your heart.

Eternal joy and peace await those who grow in the grace of generosity that flows from compassionate hearts.

—Doctrine and Covenants 163:9

Peace Covenant:

Even though I go through some dark times, God, I will trust you are there.

Leave a comment

Comments

