Worship the Lord

By Barbara Borkowski of Lee’s Summit, Missouri, USA

And one called to another and said: “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord of hosts; the whole earth is full of God’s glory.”  Isaiah 6:3, adapted

Communion Sunday has always been significant in my life. As a child I was encouraged to fast on those “first” Sunday mornings in preparation for our Communion experience. Later in life, as an Aaronic priest, I had the privilege of serving Communion. I have always understood the Lord’s Supper as an expression of holy sacredness and grace.

While I often have served Communion and presided over many Communion services, I typically am not the one who prepares the bread and grape juice. But, at a pastor and leaders meeting a few years ago, I had that opportunity.

I was alone as I prepared for the sacrament, and my thoughts and prayers were on both the meeting and the people I knew would be present.

As I broke the bread into pieces and then poured grape juice into tiny cups, I became aware of the many people who had prepared Communion throughout my life. It was a holy moment as I honored their commitment to God and the community of believers they served.

Holy moments are sacred and full of grace. They remind us that God is so much more than we know or understand. May our praise join the generations and the ages by declaring, “Holy, holy, holy is God!”

Prayer for Peace:

Holy God of grace, we kneel at your table, full of forgiveness and aware of being forgiven. With this new beginning may we direct our efforts to sharing the peace of Jesus Christ.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Caring for God’s Sacred Creation

Each day this week choose a way to notice, give thanks, and care for God’s sacred creation. Prayerfully consider one of the following suggested practices or create your own.

Walk in nature with a spirit of gratitude and “holy attention.” Write a psalm of praise for the beauty of the Earth or a prayer of healing and blessing for the wounds of the Earth. Learn about and engage in an act of Earth-keeping, such as recycling, simple living, fasting from over-consumption of resources. Notice the unique diversity of the planet’s creatures and be gentle to plants, animals, trees, and people! Fall in love with the vast, intricate wonder of God’s creation and give thanks.

Peace Covenant:

I will declare your holiness, God, in word and deed.

Leave a comment

Comments

