Respect the Planet

By Karen Hutchinson of Loveland, Colorado, USA

How beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of the messenger who announces peace, who brings good news, who announces salvation, who says to Zion, “Your God reigns.”  Isaiah 52:7

I love the mountains.

We have lived in Colorado almost 50 years and never have tired of the beauty that surrounds us. We’re close to the mountains, but we also have the prairies right outside our windows.

The contrast is perfect—this panorama completes my soul’s need for nature’s wonder. I know beauty and wonder are everywhere in the world. This just happens to be the spot for me to savor.

Our natural world feeds me. It shows me our Creator also enjoys the beauty all around us. Because of the contrast we see from our windows, I can begin to glimpse the glory God has given us.

I also can look out that same window and see the results of our disrespect for this world. We have not taken responsibility for protecting our part of the world.

I know this neglect and misuse of our land has happened all over the world. We have not valued and protected this gift of life we have been given.

Greed, selfishness, and ignorance can be the way people live—even surrounded by the great beauty we have. I believe the Creator weeps for the neglect that our selfish ways have caused in leaving the world less than it ought to be.

It’s hard to make great changes in conditions that are far off, but I can make every effort to protect the part of the world I live in. I can try to make this small part of creation a better place, in gratitude and respect for God.

Prayer for Peace:

Source of all being, we have caused you to weep. In many places we have trashed your creation. We pray, Creator, that we have not done irreparable damage, and that we will get on the right path soon. Teach us stewardship of the Earth and teach us of your peace.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Caring for God’s Sacred Creation

Choose a way to notice, give thanks, and care for God’s sacred creation. Prayerfully consider one of the following suggested practices or create your own.

Walk in nature with a spirit of gratitude and “holy attention.” Write a psalm of praise for the Earth or a prayer of healing and blessing for the wounds of the Earth. Learn about and engage in an act of Earth-keeping, such as recycling, simple living, fasting from over-consumption of resources. Notice the unique diversity of the planet’s creatures and be gentle to plants, animals, trees, and people! Fall in love with the vast, intricate creation and give thanks.

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will strengthen my recycling efforts and my efforts to use less of the Earth’s resources.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Lois Gould

     /  4 June 2012

    Thank you Karen. Enjoyed this very much. You expressed how I feel about our beloved state and the blessings we have as residents of this beautiful state and members of the Community of Christ church.

  1. •ρ• Hatred Rocks My Soul… « Reflections on Reality

Comments

