Well-used Faith

By Vera Entwistle of Forster Keys, New South Wales, Australia

…the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, generosity, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against such things.  Galatians 5:22–23

The “Antiques Road Show” is one of my favorite television programs. I tune in, hoping to discover one of my possessions is worth a lot of money.

The show’s drama comes from people not recognizing the value of what they have. To them it may just be a dust collector; maybe they received it as a gift. They don’t realize its value.

I wonder if the same can be said about me and my faith? Does it gather dust until some crisis comes along and I need something to cling to?

Our son had a medical crisis and was rushed into emergency surgery. His dad and I jumped in the car to dash to his bedside when a call came from the hospital that surgery was imminent. We asked that our son be given a phone so we could talk to him. His first words were, “Mom and Dad, I am so scared, and there’s no one here to pray for me.”

Today, as I look at my now-healthy son, the memory of that experience reminds me to dust off my faith and hold onto my testimony of a God who cares for us all, even when we are not in crisis.

Prayer for Peace:

God of love, joy, faith, and peace, let us remember to practice these fruitful gifts when we are secure, as well as when we are afraid. Let our hearts be at peace, knowing we have our well-used faith in you to rely on.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Encountering Scripture as Continuing Revelation

Each day this week read and pray with the Doctrine and Covenants as continuing revelation of God’s vision for the church and creation. Choose a favorite section or focus on recent counsel in Sections 156–164.

Read a few selected paragraphs slowly three or four times. Pause to pray for deep understanding of meaning after the first reading. Pray for your heart and emotions to open to the text after the second reading. After the third reading, prayerfully ask to hear the particular phrase or word that speaks to you or touches your life. Stay with this word or phrase. Listen as fully and openly as you can. What sense of divine presence or invitation comes? What is revealed?

Peace Covenant:

God, I will keep my faith ready to go.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Comments

