Chosen to Serve

By Greg Savage of Lee’s Summit, Missouri, USA

…And Samuel said to Jesse, “Send and bring him; for we will not sit down until he comes here.” He sent and brought him in. …The Lord said, “Rise and anoint him; for this is the one.” Then Samuel took the horn of oil, and anointed him in the presence of his brothers; and the spirit of the Lord came mightily upon David from that day forward.  1 Samuel 16:11–13

God commanded the prophet Samuel to search out Jesse, for the Lord would anoint one of his sons eventually to be king. As each son came forward, Samuel thought this would be the one, but the Lord said, “no” to each one.

Finally, Samuel asked Jesse, “Are all of your sons here?” Jesse confirmed the youngest son was tending sheep. Samuel called Jesse’s son, David, to appear before him. As he did, the Lord told Samuel to “Rise and anoint him, for this is the one.”

Early in the ministry of Jesus, he called for several to become his disciples. The chosen 12 were each unique, and Jesus brought unity to their diversity. In John 15:16, Jesus told his disciples “You did not choose me but I chose you. And I appoint you to go and bear fruit, fruit that will last…”

My evangelist blessing counsels me to bring my life to the table as an offering. I have experienced “the blessedness that is happiness, has its foundation in him, in his purpose, in his power, in his…love.”

When my wife, Becky, became director of Leadership Development for Community of Christ, I was reassigned. Never in my dreams did I imagine I would I be chosen to serve as pastor of the Stone Church Congregation. I received this assignment with mixed emotions—shock and awe!

However, as I began to learn about the congregation’s history, I met many members, and the Spirit gently reminded me this was God’s work and not mine. It was a rewarding experience to work beside those committed to the mission of Jesus Christ. My evangelist blessing told me that my greatest satisfaction and joy in life would be when I was promoting oneness with God. The Spirit of the Lord has richly blessed me in my chosen ministry.

Prayer for Peace:

God of grace, we would be your ministers and servants. We pray that all will find their calling. Bless us with faith and strength to promote peace for you.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Honoring the Worth of All Persons

Each day this week read Psalm 139:13–18. After each reading sit quietly and let the deep meaning sink into your mind, heart, and body. What thoughts and feelings do you have about being “fearfully and wonderfully made” (Psalm 139:14a )?

Sense the intimate knowledge God has of you and every child ever born. Ask God for an awareness of the sacred worth of each person. Weep with God over the soul-wounding forces and events that rob people of dignity and worth. How are you invited to notice, protect, heal, and affirm the spiritual identity of all God’s people?

Peace Covenant:

I will remember, God, that you chose me. In response, I will go and bear the fruit that lasts.

Leave a comment

Comments

