Two Copper Coins

By Mary Hathaway of Washington, D.C., USA

A poor widow came and put in two small copper coins, which are worth a penny. Then he called his disciples and said to them, “Truly I tell you, this poor widow has put in more than all those who are contributing to the treasury. For all of them have contributed out of their abundance; but she out of her poverty has put in everything she had, all she had to live on.”  Mark 12:42–44

Because I have finances to meet my needs, I decided whatever coins I found in my travels I would donate to the World Hunger Fund. Once, this brought an unexpected return.

A woman ahead of me in line had finished her grocery checkout. I noticed she and the cashier were fumbling in their purses, looking for coins. Fishing out my coin purse, I handed her two pennies. I told her I knew I had the pennies because I had planned on putting them in the World Hunger “can” at church. She accepted the pennies and completed her purchase.

Then to my astonishment she turned back to me and handed me a dollar bill, “for the World Hunger can” she said. The giving of those two coins had returned 200 fold. Praise God for generous people who help us by contributing to the mission initiative of Abolish Poverty, End Suffering, which fights hunger.

Prayer for Peace:

Generous God, may we be generous too. May we give all we can to Abolish Poverty, End Suffering. May we encourage the redirection of funds spent on war to spend them on feeding people, helping those who hurt, and sharing Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice:

Watch the trees outside your window for a few moments. Close your eyes and meditate on Alma’s words about seeds and trees. If you were to plant and grow the Word of God in your heart, what kind of tree might symbolically represent this process? Envision the word-seed as it grows into a tree of life and blessing. Ask God to show you how to begin. (See Alma 16:152–173 Book of Mormon RAV.)

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will set up my personal World Hunger “can.” I will empty my pockets each day as I empty my soul in prayer—that the money will be used to great effect.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Comments

