Learn Faith and Love from a Child

By Flo McDonald of Lee’s Summit, Missouri, USA

Shun wasteful passions and pursue righteousness, faith, love, and peace, along with those who call on the Lord from a pure heart.  2 Timothy 2:22, adapted

A deep moment of awakening may come at any time. All are called to be humble and teachable. I received words of encouragement and was blessed by a simple act of kindness.

One day I was trying to paint the high ceilings in my dining room. I stood on the stepladder with the paint and a roller, reaching for the ceiling. I had been working for some time and was getting tired. I began to complain about what a hard job it was.

My first grandson, a toddler, was watching me. He walked to the ladder, hugged it as best he could, looked up at me and said in a loving and compassionate little voice, “My grandma—I’ll fix it for you.”

I immediately was humbled and ashamed. I stopped painting and took time to give my grandson a big hug and assured him I was all right. This child loved me so much he was willing to help, even though he couldn’t.

I have never forgotten that moment. I have come to appreciate the lesson I learned through the words and love of a small child.

There have been times in my life when I have made a great effort to respond to some need only to find I wasn’t needed after all. Although I sometimes have thought my time was wasted, I believe that when making the effort willingly, prepared, and with love, our intentions are affirmed in the sight of God.

Prayer for Peace:

We call on you, God, with a desire for a pure heart. May we not wait for comfortable tasks that we are sure we can do. We would not be waiters, but doers. May we be brave enough to share the peace of Jesus Christ.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Examining God’s Call to Me and to All

Each day this week reflect on God’s call in your life. Begin by prayerfully asking to recall particular moments when you have experienced God’s presence and invitation. Write in your journal or quietly reflect on images and insights that come.

When has God seemed most real in your life? How and when has God called you to use your energies and gifts? When have you felt most deeply connected and responsive to God’s movement in your life? When have you felt disconnected or resistant to God’s call? How do your gifts and callings connect with the call of God you notice in your family members, friends, congregation, or community?

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will accept the challenge and risk myself for peace.

Leave a comment

Comments

