Take Bread from My Repentant Hand

By Peggy Michael of Cantonment, Florida, USA

And again, I say unto you, Sue for peace, not only the people that have smitten you, but also to all people; and lift up an ensign of peace, and make a proclamation for peace unto the ends of the earth.  Doctrine and Covenants 102:11a–b

How can I ask forgiveness of the Lord, while I am yet sinful? I meditate about tomorrow’s Communion service. How can I take the bread, the wine—blessed to the souls of those who partake? The line is thin, and I stumble easily. Would I be taking the symbols of Christ’s love and grace in vain? Should I refrain from eating, though I need wholeness so desperately?

I wonder. Do those on their knees beside me fight these silent battles as I do? I strive so hard for lofty goals that seem so unattainable. Yet, I will eat, and drink, and believe that God’s love will overcome my sinfulness. Tomorrow, as I leave the table, I will feel forgiveness, my soul restored.

I have made my inward journey to peace. Now my outward journey challenges my proud heart; a pride that may flaunt silken garments in the face of beggars and hollow-cheeked children. No. I will lower my eyes to see their tattered forms. I will hear their hungry whimpers and hasten to their side. Then, perhaps, they will forgive me and take a piece of bread from my repentant hand. Grace and generosity endure.

Prayer for Peace:

God of the table of peace, we thank you for our place at the table. We are happy to serve all who will come to your table. Let us go out and invite others to come to the table of peace.

Spiritual Practice:

Compassion is a fruit of the spiritual life. When we open a space for God, we become vessels and channels for the flow of God’s justice and healing. Enter into quiet prayer and ask God to open your heart to those who are hungry.

What spiritual and physical hungers do you become aware of? What people or groups come into your mind and heart? What responses are you invited to make?

Pray about and write down the response or action you choose to complete. Is it a phone call; a pantry donation; a check for Abolish Poverty, End Suffering or Outreach International; a visit? Move into completing this action as you leave your prayer space.

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will proclaim peace to all who will hear.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Comments

