To Pursue the Holy

By Coralie Rose of Puyallup, Washington, USA

The temple shall be dedicated to the pursuit of peace. It shall be for reconciliation and for healing of the spirit.  Doctrine and Covenants 156:5a

A year before the June 1997 Leadership Conference in Independence, Missouri, a need to personally experience the Temple began to take hold of my mind. My chance for this to become a reality seemed so remote that I thought it more likely I would visit the beautiful and sacred building in spirit only.

As I turned this idea over in my mind, the passage from the Doctrine and Covenants describing the purpose of the Temple rose before me. Dedicated to the pursuit of peace, reconciliation and healing of the spirit—the Temple has a worthy purpose indeed.

A special gathering of Community of Christ members would surely raise the probability of some manifestation of the Holy Spirit ministering among those present, I thought. Perhaps I could discern the Spirit at a gathering such as the Leadership Conference.

My friend, Lynn, invited me to attend with her, and a way to visit the Temple began to open. The smaller leadership gathering would give me space to see and feel the Temple. I volunteered to usher and greet attendees. Surely I would be able to discern any movement of the Holy Spirit among the congregation assembled there.

The Worshiper’s Path was nearly deserted as I hurried in. I slowed as I approached the shadow of the cross. I immediately was aware of the Holy Spirit, characterized by a blend of peacefulness and power filling the entire pathway.

My soul rejoiced, and I gladly would have stayed forever in that moment, basking in the Spirit’s healing presence. I also understood my task was to continue on my way. Reluctantly, but full of hope, I moved up the pathway, awed and assured of God’s love.

Prayer for Peace:

God of all sacred places, which is to say, God of all creation, go before us. Touch us with your healing spirit. Lead us in our pursuit of peace.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Welcoming Unity in Diversity

Each day this week meditate on unity in diversity. Prayerfully read Doctrine and Covenants 163:8c, which calls “the entire church to become a sanctuary of Christ’s peace, where people from all nations, ethnicities, and life circumstances can be gathered into a spiritual home without dividing walls.”

Create a large circle with your arms. See and feel the diverse people God invites inside the sanctuary of Christ’s peace represented by this circle. Who is easiest to welcome? Whom do you struggle to include? Confess the dividing walls between you and people too different or “dangerous” to invite into your spiritual home. Ask God to forgive and heal barriers that keep you and others from being one in Christ’s peace.

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will cherish the sacredness of the space around me. I am open to your Spirit.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Thank you for a beautiful testimony, my heart is filled with joy of your experience & the reception you gave to our Lord Jesus Christ..
    Lois Buchanan (Elder-retired)

Comments

