God’s Love Embodied in Christ

By Deb Crowley of Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA

Jesus Christ, the embodiment of God’s shalom, invites all people to come and receive divine peace in the midst of the difficult questions and struggles of life. Follow Christ in the way that leads to God’s peace and discover the blessings of all of the dimensions of salvation.  Doctrine and Covenants 163:2a

“I love you more than all the macaroni and cheese in the world!”

It was a game I began with my granddaughter when she was 3. When saying good-bye, good night, I would try to convey my unconditional love for her though we often are hundreds of miles apart. When the game started, she would look at me, giggle, and respond, “Silly Grammie!” Then she would say “I wuv you, too!”

Now she is a grown up 5-year-old, and her world has expanded. She responds to my “I love you more than all the little friends in the world” with her own imaginative, “I love you more than all the houses and stars in the world!” And she still giggles!

It is more than a game. It is a fun way to assure Cadence of how precious she is to me, how I will love her forever no matter what, and that I will always be there for her.

Traveling through the magnificent mountains of Tennessee, sailing atop the mind-boggling expanse of the Atlantic Ocean, the indescribable beauty of Lake Huron and Lake Michigan, I hear God say, “I love you more than all of this!”

God’s love for you and me, for each person on Earth, is beyond comprehension.

Humanity is often cruel, disrespectful of the Earth, and rebellious. It often denies God’s existence. Yet God’s love never wavers.

God speaks love through the beauty of creation. God speaks unconditional and unfathomable love through human relationships. Reminders are everywhere. Assurance of God’s love was part of God’s game plan. God said, “I love you more than life itself.” For God so loved the world, he sent his only Son, Jesus Christ, into the world so we might have everlasting life.

Christ is the embodiment of God’s shalom—love and peace.

It’s our turn. “God, I love you more than…”

Prayer for Peace:

God, it’s hard to express how much we love you. We praise you for the ultimate expression of your love—Jesus Christ, the Prince of Peace.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Offering Blessings of Community

Receive and share blessings of community. Be aware of and feel connections with people and creatures in God’s sacred web of life. Write in your journal about the call to be “Community of Christ.” Go deeper each day as you discern what act of blessing you are invited to complete.

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will look at the world in another way—seeing your love in all that I behold.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Comments

