Your Son Loves You

By Paul McCain of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

…and live in love, as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us, a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.  Ephesians 5:2

I received an e-mail from my son with “Your Son Loves You” in the subject line, and I found myself reflecting on that statement. I thought, “Perhaps my Creator would like to hear me voice my love more often.”

I pondered whether I remembered to tell my Earthly father often enough that I loved him before he passed. He and I did not have a tradition of often sharing emotions. I know he loved his children but just didn’t say it out loud.

He also struggled with understanding God’s love and the grace available to him. He lived with me his last few years. I sometimes would overhear him praying, pouring out his soul to God. I feel it was a relief for him to pass into the presence of the One he trusted.

I wondered if I try hard enough to be the father to my son that makes it easier for him to love. With his busy life, I appreciate his decision to be intentional with staying in touch and sharing with me. He sends me special cards for Father’s Day, reminding me of the important part I have played in his life. He says he knows his success stems, at least in part, from principles taught him as he grew up.

When we talk on the phone we close the conversation with “I love you,” a tradition valued beyond measure.

I hope my grandson, even at his young age of 6, tells his father he loves him and faithfully continues to do so throughout his life. May we often feel the nudge to share with those close to us how we feel. May we also share our feelings of love with God.

Prayer for Peace:

Loving God, may we never forget to express our love for you. May all we do for one another be love in action. May we share Christ’s peace as part of that love.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Offering Blessings of Community

Receive and share blessings of community. Pray gratitude for your network of relationships. See and feel connections with family members, spiritual friends, people in your congregation and community, and creatures in God’s sacred web of life. What blessings flow to you from these circles? Reflect, pray, and write in your journal about the call to be Community of Christ. Discern what act of blessing you are invited to complete.

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will let you know, in some tangible way, how much I love you.

Leave a comment

Comments

