Active Service

By Evelyn Spence of Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

…when you are in the service of your fellow beings you are only in the service of your God.  Mosiah 1:49

I volunteer as a cashier at the Community of Christ Thrift Store in Council Bluffs, Iowa. The sale of donated goods helps provide food, clothing, and household goods for those in need.

Even though I work just one morning a week, I am blessed to interact with a wide range of people. I meet customers of all descriptions from many faith communities. It is good to get to know them and feel I am helping them.

Co-workers come from several Community of Christ congregations. Other co-workers are friends from other denominations. Our jobs include working the cash register, sorting items, pricing, and setting up displays.

Most volunteers are retirees, some older than 90. One of my favorite quotes from a woman who worked until she was 95 was, “If I stop moving, I might as well be dead.” I know what she means. If I just sit in my chair and am not physically working, I lose muscle tone or gain weight. I guess you could say this job benefits my health. It also helps me keep alive my interaction with others.

The best part of this job is that I can serve God by serving others.

Prayer for Peace:

God of both poor and rich, help us give according to our true capacity. Accept our service to our companions as service to you. May we serve those in need of justice and in need of peace.

Spiritual Practice:

Meditate on a time when you learned about community from someone who took you in, fed you, taught you, shared stories and wisdom with you. What did you learn? Prayerfully create a list of qualities you need to learn from spiritual mentors and friends. Then write the names of people who serve as teachers, models, coaches, or encouragers in your life as a disciple. Offer a prayer of gratitude and blessing for these spiritual “relatives” and friends.

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will consider what I have and what I can give with generosity.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Comments

