Don’t Say or Do…Just Be

By Lillian Kirby of Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

“Be still, and know that I am God! I am exalted among the nations, I am exalted in the earth.” The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah.  Psalm 46:10–11

What do you say when you don’t know what words to use? We used to think saying and doing were more important than being. I believe differently now. Sometimes our best response to people in need is to be a silent presence. Being there sometimes is more important than talking or taking action.

The last Sunday I attended my home congregation, I experienced a blessing of being. I had been through a difficult divorce and was about to move my family 1,500 miles to the Midwest. I already was feeling homesick, dejected, and desperate as I played the organ for the morning worship. I knew it would be the last time in a congregation where I had many sacred worship memories.

After the postlude, I quickly left the organ and retreated to the first pew, where I sat in silence as tears flowed down my cheeks. I turned my head and saw a sweet, elderly aunt, Bertie, had come to sit beside me and share my grief.

She didn’t have to say a word. Her kind presence brought peace to my soul. I will always remember her sacred ministry in that moment of my need. She was my refuge on behalf of God, whose presence we shared.

Prayer for Peace:

Ever-present God, may we be still with you. May we be present for one another. May we be your instruments of sanctuary and peace.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Connecting with God as Center

Connect with God through journal writing. Prayerfully center on your intent to open yourself to God’s presence and share what flows from your heart and mind. Your “letter to God” might include thoughts, questions, feelings, needs, artwork, quotes, and scriptures, or it might take the form of a prayer, psalm, or poem.

Try to write at least five minutes each day. What do you experience? Is this an effective way to connect with God? What surprises you? What new images or questions from God emerge? What deepens or changes in your relationship with God, Christ, Spirit?

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will be present for another’s need.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Comments

