Those Who Make a Difference with Love

By Flo McDonald of Lee’s Summit, Missouri, USA

Collectively and individually, you are loved with an everlasting love that delights in each faithful step taken. God yearns to draw you close so that wounds may be healed, emptiness filled, and hope strengthened.  Doctrine and Covenants 163:10

A friend asked me to help identify people from old photos for a record kept by the historian of our congregation. Many of the pictures dated to my childhood. As I looked at them, I found I was looking through the eyes of a child. From my childhood perspective I was unsure about some of the people. Others I recognized immediately. Sometimes I knew names but not faces.

Looking through the eyes of an adult, using memory as a guide, it was helpful to note the characteristics of the person as well as the date. The ones I remembered best were those who had made a difference in my life, who had shown me love.

As I thought about those special people, I remembered an old movie, “It’s a Wonderful Life.”

It was about an unhappy and desperate man who wished he never had been born. He had the unusual experience of being shown that along the way he had touched many lives and made a wonderful difference. His life had been worth living, after all. When he came to that realization, he was the happiest man alive.

I am thankful for those who helped me on life’s journey.

They expressed God’s love for me through their love. As they served and gave of themselves, we grew and came closer to God.

Prayer for Peace:

How do we know of your love for us, God? We know by the love shown through your disciples, by the care given, and the peace we are taught.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Growing a Gracious, Generous Heart

Each day this week open your heart to God’s grace and generosity with a “breath prayer.” Let your breathing slow and deepen. Be aware of God’s breath moving in and out of your heart. Spend several minutes focusing on breathing in God’s generosity. With each breath, silently name one gift for which you are thankful. “God, I breathe in the gift of  ______ with thanks.” Let your heart expand to contain God’s gracious outpouring.

With each breath out, name one gift you want to share from the overflow of your heart.

Eternal joy and peace await those who grow in the grace of generosity that flows from compassionate hearts.

—Doctrine and Covenants 163:9

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will let someone know how deeply they touched my life.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Comments

