Love Your Neighbor

By Eleanor St. Clair of Oak Harbor, Ohio, USA

One of the scribes came near and heard them disputing with one another, and seeing that he answered them well, he asked him, “Which commandment is the first of all?” Jesus answered, “The first is, ‘Hear, O Israel: the Lord our God, the Lord is one; you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind, and with all your strength.’ The second is this, ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no other commandment greater than these.”  Mark 12:28–31

I was blessed beyond measure by the workers, Shawn and Jason, who installed a weatherization package in my house. I bonded quickly with them.

On other jobs they normally ate lunch in their truck. By invitation, they sat at the table with me on the first day. The second day, Jason ate a plate of pasta with great appetite. The third day I served a homemade peach pie. They loved the homemade, whole-wheat bread, which we broke together daily for two weeks.

Of course, breaking bread included testimonies of Christ, the Bread of Life, which made their eyes light up.

They went beyond what was required in repairing houses and said, “We like to make sure our customers are happy when our team leaves a job.” I assured them they were serving God by serving their neighbors.

When they finished, we shared good-byes and hugs.

Jason remarked, “You said that you once cooked for millionaires. I felt like a millionaire when I sat at your table and ate what you so lovingly prepared.”

Shawn said, “I want you to know you have made me want change in my life.”

Christ was among us. We were deeply touched. They assured me that if they were assigned near my area again, they would be back for a visit. “And food,” I said. “Yes, spiritual food,” was their response.

I miss them.

Feasting together was a joy, but sharing God’s love was the greatest. We are told many will respond if we share our testimony of God’s love and the peace of Jesus Christ. I thank God for their response.

Prayer for Peace:

Loving God, we respond to you with love. We know we are blessed when we share your love with our neighbors. Help us extend our love to the stranger with hospitality and generosity. May we show our love for you by sharing the peace of Jesus Christ.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Encountering Scripture as Continuing Revelation

Read and pray with the Doctrine and Covenants as continuing revelation of God’s vision for the church and creation. Choose a favorite section or focus on recent counsel in Sections 156–164. Pause to pray for deep understanding. Pray for opening of your heart.

Peace Covenant:

God, today I will extend the hand of peace to a stranger.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. HOW TO APPROACH GOD TO GET YOUR PRAYERS ANSWERED PART 2 « Vine and Branch World Ministries.com
  2. God’s Love « bummyla

Comments

