Hear God’s Voice above the Din

Story and picture by Cindy Korf of North Platte, Nebraska, USA

Therefore, continue to be strong in faith. To you who hear my voice and know my promises I will reveal myself and give my peace, even in the midst of your uncertainties.  Doctrine and Covenants 158:11a

With the solitude of the trees, I like to walk along a path to a small clearing that overlooks the South Platte River. From this vantage point, if I listen carefully, I can hear the soft murmur of the river.

Unless I go to this spot, it is difficult to hear the river because of noise from the highway that runs next to it. Tractor-trailers, cars, motorcycles, and trucks constantly zoom along. There is no stopping their noise.

My life is much the same. The world constantly clangs and bangs around me. Even when I search for quiet time to be alone with God, the world barges in—whether it’s a phone ringing or my own thoughts, consumed with daily events.

It is hard to hear God’s voice above the noise of the world. Yet, like the water that always quietly flows in the river, I know God is present. I just have to shut out the noise of the world and listen for God’s voice. I center myself and am immersed in the living water.

Prayer for Peace:

Ever-present God, we hear you in the quiet waters and in the breeze of the swaying trees. Help us hear you above the din of traffic and busyness. Help us listen for your words of peace that we may share them with the world.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Making Responsible Choices

Each day this week prayerfully seek God’s guidance in your choices. Discernment invites us to orient our lives toward God and God’s vision for us and for creation.

Begin by reviewing the responsibilities and opportunities in the day before you. Take these choices into prayer, asking God for wisdom and insight about what matters most. Offer yourself to God with the prayer of Teresa of Avila: “God, what do you want of me today?”

Sit prayerfully with this question as you review the day again. Be aware of images, thoughts, names, or actions that come to you. Ask for blessing to live this day responsibly and compassionately in the spirit of Christ.

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will set aside busyness and listen for you.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Comments

