Through the Eyes of Love

By Lu Mountenay of Independence, Missouri, USA

…but Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not stop them; for it is to such as these that the kingdom of heaven belongs.”  Matthew 19:14

When I was about 10, my older sister, Judy, came home crying. I asked her what was wrong. She said some kids were making fun of her face. I asked, in all innocence, “What’s wrong with your face?” It was as if I had said the cruelest words, and she ran crying from the room. She was hurt, and I was confused.

My oldest sister, Anita, heard all this and helped me understand. She asked, “Didn’t you ever notice that Judy has a cleft palate?” I didn’t know what that was, and no, I had never noticed. When I looked at Judy, all I saw was Judy. She was my sister, and I loved her just the way she was.

I felt bad that I had made her cry. Anita told a story to me about when Judy first was brought home from the hospital. Anita was about 4 and didn’t know what a new baby should look like.

When she saw Judy, she thought she was the most-beautiful baby in the world. Of course, at that new age, she hadn’t had her initial surgery, and the cleft palate was prominent.

Anita greeted some visitors at the door and proudly took them to see the baby. They were all looking down with sad faces and shaking their heads. Anita didn’t understand why they, too, didn’t think she was beautiful.

Since then Judy has had surgery, and one hardly can tell anything ever was “wrong.” Of course, Anita and I know nothing ever was wrong. It was only a physical perception, comparing her to what was considered “normal.”

It would be great if people of all ages could adopt the innocent, accepting, mindset of children and see all humans through the eyes of love.

Prayer for Peace:

God of creation, clear our eyes of cynical cataracts, of blurring, shallow judgments, and of narrow vision. Let love and peace shine brightly in our eyes.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Making Responsible Choices

Prayerfully seek God’s guidance in your choices. Discernment invites us to orient our lives toward God. Review the responsibilities and opportunities in the day before you. Be aware of images, thoughts, names, or actions that come to you. Ask for blessing to live this day responsibly and compassionately in the spirit of Christ.

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will set aside preconceived ideas of “normal” and look at the worth of people as you see them.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. H.P. Fritz

     /  14 September 2012

    Loved this testimony

Comments

