I Now Have a Testimony!

By Roger Hull of Carson City, Nevada, USA

Be of good cheer, O my people…If you will move out in faith and confidence to proclaim my gospel my Spirit will empower you and there will be many who respond, even in places and ways which do not now seem clear.  Doctrine and Covenants 154:7a

I grew up in a Community of Christ congregation. When I was young we moved to Nevada, where I was the only child my age in the new congregation. I missed my old church friends and became lonely. I didn’t want to go to church anymore. I stopped living the life God wanted me to live.

I married young and soon had four children. I was not a good husband and father. I committed some serious crimes and got divorced. I tried to go back to church, but I didn’t fit in or feel welcome. I went to the only place I felt safe—home. The prodigal son returned.

I remarried, got joint custody of my children, and had one more. I still wasn’t giving my whole being to God. This time I was accused of something I didn’t do. I had no way to defend myself. The trial was meaningless to me. I am now in a Nevada state correctional center, again, far from my church family

In the 10 years I’ve been here, I go to the services of another denomination. A Community of Christ evangelist comes all the way from Texas to see me every three months. He serves me the sacrament of the Lord’s Supper.

I’ve completed many Temple School classes. Until now, I never thought I had a testimony. I can say today that I know my Redeemer lives. I know God wants us to reconcile with one another and God. We are to forgive ourselves and one another. This is possible. This is my testimony.

Prayer for Peace:

God of grace, we confess the times we are not the people you would have us be. We ask your forgiveness and the forgiveness of those we hurt. As we open ourselves to your grace, may we forgive those who have hurt us. Help us share the cause of peace and justice.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Embodying God’s Shalom

Each day this week find a way to express and embody God’s shalom. Begin by prayerfully listening to your longing for peace. Become silent and imagine you can hear the groaning of the Earth’s peoples, nations, and creatures. Prayerfully open yourself to God’s yearning for peace and the divine vision of shalom.

What images, feelings, and words come to you? What prayer for peace comes to you from your time of listening? Speak or write this prayer. What small act of justice, kindness, healing, or peacemaking is God inviting you to consider this day, this week?

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will seek the forgiveness of others I may have hurt.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Norma Mercurio

     /  20 September 2012

    Roger, I appreciate the sharing of your life story with us. What an awesome God we worship! He loves all of us beyond measure and we are of inestimable worth in his eyes because we are his creation. Please, never forget that. May the peace of the Christ be yours.

  2. Mr. Hull I am so very glad that you have our savior and Lord Jesus Christ, enjoyed your write keep the faith and God Bless and keep you!

Comments

