On-time Prayers

By Gary Piper of Fort Gratiot, Michigan, USA

For “Those who desire life and desire to see good days…let them seek peace and pursue it. For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous, and his ears are open to their prayer.”  1 Peter 3:10–12

It’s been about 10 years since I worked with a wonderful friend named Sue. I still can hear her thought-provoking, life-changing words: “Gary, God may not always answer prayers on your time schedule, but God is always on time!”

Since then those words have proven true. If I start to despair, God comes to my rescue.

As powerful and meaningful as my prayers are to me, not a day goes by that they don’t conflict with my impatience with Jesus telling me to “endure.” When I find myself surrounded by a life-storm I find myself praying, “God, we both know this storm will soon pass, so why not save me the anguish and end it right now?”

Almost immediately I recall Sue’s voice, “Gary, God may not always come on your time schedule, but God is always on time!” Then it’s as if someone or something lifts me above the storm, and from a safe distance I can see it swirling and blowing below me.

I remember the days before my myasthenia gravis (an autoimmune disorder) went into remission.

God always gave me the strength to give the ministry I was called to give.

Especially during times when I question my ability to give ministry, I endure and am blessed.

Prayer for Peace:

Listening God, give us patience. Help us endure. We have faith that you see and hear us. We will seek peace and share it with the world.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Offering Blessings of Community

Begin with a prayer of gratitude for the network of relationships in your life. See and feel connections with family members, spiritual friends, people in your congregation and community, people and creatures in God’s sacred web of life.

What blessings flow to you from these circles? Go deeper each day as you “discern and embrace” the “divine blessing” of this name that opens you to “become a blessing to the whole creation” (Doctrine and Covenants 163:1). What act of blessing are you invited to complete?

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will practice patience and faith when I pray.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Appreciate all that you do!!! Thank you, Gary. ccc

Comments

