I Will Lift My Eyes

By Cindy Korf of North Platte, Nebraska, USA

Therefore my people shall know my name; therefore in that day they shall know that it is I who speak; here am I. How beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of the messenger who announces peace…Listen! Your sentinels lift up their voices, together they sing for joy; for in plain sight they see the return of the Lord to Zion.  Isaiah 52:6–8

When I moved to Nebraska, I missed the mountains. In Colorado, I could gaze on them each day and at any moment. I purposely took the passage from Psalm 121, “I lift up my eyes to the hills” to be my inspiration to remember God. I saw the beauty and majesty of God’s creation in the mountains.

But there are no mountains in Nebraska. I felt emptiness without their presence until one spring morning, when I heard a chortling noise in the sky. I lifted my eyes in curiosity and beheld a majestic sight. Like black silk ribbons drifting on the air currents, flocks of sandhill cranes flew across the heavens. How could I not hold my gaze heavenward and praise God for the beauty of creation?

In the days and weeks that followed, flocks of snow geese, Canada geese, and sandhill cranes constantly called me with their honking and chortling music. They called to me to lift my eyes to the heavens as they migrated south.

Wherever we find ourselves, there is always a reason to lift our eyes to behold God’s majesty and beauty and to praise the Creator. I then can feel peace and share it with others.

Prayer for Peace:

God who speaks to us through birds and mountains, help us hear the messenger who announces peace. Assure us that it is you who speaks, you who blesses us with the beauty of creation and blesses us with peace.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Connecting with God as Center

Each day this week connect with God through journal writing. Use a notebook, journal, computer, or any available paper. Prayerfully center on your intent to open yourself to God’s presence and share what flows from your heart and mind. Your “letter to God” might include thoughts, questions, feelings, needs, artwork, quotes, and scriptures. Or it might take the form of a prayer, psalm, or poem.

Try to write at least five minutes each day. What do you experience? Is this an effective way to connect with God? What surprises you? What new images or questions from God emerge? What deepens or changes in your relationship with God, Christ, Spirit?

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will embrace the message of peace I find in nature.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Dale Warner

     /  11 October 2012

    This was Wednesdays New Post.

    Let Christ Shine Through You,

    Dale

Comments

