Can You See? Are You Pedaling?

By Sally Walton of Walkersville, Maryland, USA

…Will you remain hesitant in the shadows of your fears…Or will you move forward in the light of your divinely instilled call and vision? The mission of Jesus Christ is what matters most for the journey ahead.  Doctrine and Covenants 164:9e–f

One of my first assignments as a teacher of blind students was to be a rider-guide on a tandem-bike outing. Each staff member was to ride with a student to a park, where a picnic lunch awaited.

Terry, the girl riding with me, became quiet and did not want to go. After questions about why we were going, she made it clear she thought the outing was ridiculous.

Terry was afraid. After some coercing on my part, she agreed to think about it. She asked, “Do you really know where we’re going?” After I assured her that I did, she asked another question, “Can you really see the road?” I assured her I could see the road and could navigate for both of us. She finally agreed to go.

From other staff members I heard “Keep pedaling back there.” As soon as the students got comfortable riding, they tended to forget to pedal. If the road got bumpy, they got scared and forgot to pedal. As teachers we later chuckled about how little trust the students had in our ability to get them to the picnic.

Now, in mid-life, I find myself afraid to accept additional responsibilities. However, I have this nudging that God wants me to say “yes.” During a morning of intense prayer (almost arguing with God about it), I heard myself saying, “Do you know the implications this has for my family?”

I suddenly was overcome by the memory of the bike ride years ago, realizing I was asking God the same questions my student asked me.

I realized I was God’s blind child—a child who was scared and confused. I also knew God was telling me I didn’t have to know the way or to even see the road.

God asked me only to get on the bike and start pedaling. I was reminded I will be led where God wants me to go. Now, if I can just remember to trust and keep pedaling on the journey ahead!

Prayer for Peace:

Tender Shepherd, we have faith that you will lead us. May we follow.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Growing a Gracious, Generous Heart

Open your heart to God’s grace and generosity with a “breath prayer.” Be aware of God’s breath moving in and out of your heart. With each breath in, silently name one gift for which you are thankful. With each breath out, name one gift you want to share from the overflow of your heart.

Eternal joy and peace await those who grow in the grace of generosity that flows from compassionate hearts.  Doctrine and Covenants 163:9

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will pursue what matters most.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. What a blessing this post is today. I certainly needed it. thankl you for the beautiful story and sharing!

Comments

