God’s Care Given by Us

By Paul McCain of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

How precious is your steadfast love, O God! All people may take refuge in the shadow of your wings. They feast on the abundance of your house, and you give them drink from the river of your delights. For with you is the fountain of life; in your light we see light. O continue your steadfast love to those who know you, and your salvation to the upright of heart!  Psalm 36:7–10

A co-worker fell and was taken to the emergency room (ER). Our administrator asked me to e-mail the worker’s supervisor and then go to the ER.

When I arrived, the doctor was putting stitches in my friend’s forehead. Shortly afterward someone came to X-ray her foot, on which I dutifully had kept an ice pack. My friend apologized for the inconvenience, but I told her I would stay as long as she needed.

After reading the X-ray, the doctor told her the foot was broken and he would have to give her a cast. My job was to talk to my friend, joke with her, and assure her whatever help she needed would be provided.

Soon a technician came and shaped the cast, wrapped it, and held her foot in the needed position while the material dried. A wheelchair was brought in, and I drove the car to meet the attendant and my friend at the ER door. When back at our workplace, I left her in the car while I found another worker to help us get her and her car home. The other worker also offered to help in any way needed, and we left my friend in her living room to rest.

As we went through the afternoon, I remember looking for ways to help, trying to be the hands and feet of God. We try to help so people do not feel alone in the world—to let them know they have a community that cares. We hope through us people will know of God’s steadfast love. May we always be bringers of peace wherever the opportunity presents itself.

Prayer for Peace:

Steadfast God, we look to you for light. We look to you for a community of faithful servants. We would be faithful, too. We would share the peace of Christ.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Caring for God’s Sacred Creation

Notice, give thanks, and care for God’s sacred creation. Walk in nature with a spirit of “holy attention.” Or write a prayer of healing and blessing for the wounds of the Earth. Learn about and engage in an act of Earth-keeping, such as recycling, simple living, fasting from over-consumption of resources. Notice the unique diversity of the planet’s creatures and be gentle to plants, animals, trees, and people! Fall in love with the vast, intricate wonder of God’s creation.

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will be your hands and feet. Show me where I am needed.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Comments

