Lord, Let Me See

By Dave Brock, presiding evangelist

…Bartimaeus son of Timaeus, a blind beggar, was sitting by the roadside. When he heard that it was Jesus of Nazareth, he began to shout out and say, “Jesus, Son of David, have mercy on me!” …Jesus stood still and said, “Call him here.” And they called the blind man, saying to him, “Take heart; get up, he is calling you.” …Then Jesus said to him, “What do you want me to do for you?” The blind man said to him, “My teacher, let me see again.” Jesus said to him, “Go; your faith has made you well.” Immediately he regained his sight and followed him on the way. Mark 10:46–47, 49, 51–52

The child turns to a parent or older sibling who has just unwrapped a box or opened an envelope and demands, “Let me see!” A teen watches her father trying to connect electric wires without injuring himself. In a combination of thinking out loud and some vague plea to the universe, the father mutters, “Let me see here!” An elderly woman with cataracts turns to the doctor just before surgery and says, “Let me see again, Doc!”

It is more dramatic when Jesus stops in his tracks to ask the blind man, “What would you have me do?” and Bartimaeus the beggar says, “Lord, let me see!” But, the tenor of the statement is the same as in the ordinary requests: petition, expectation, hope.

Why, then, if I’m honest, do I only infrequently and with considerable effort haltingly say, “Lord, let me see,” and mean it?

I think it is because the blindness from which I need healing, but don’t truly want, goes something like this:

“Lord, let me see where my actions are hindering the relationship with my colleague, Jennifer, at work.”  “Lord, let me see the positive traits and giftedness of Sam who, frankly, irritates me!” “Lord, let me see what gifts I have so I can say yes to the new priesthood call or the request to fill a tough leadership role in the community.”

If I’m honest, much of the time I’d just as soon not hear Jesus ask, “What would you have me do?” Then I wouldn’t have to confess that if it means blind spots will be revealed, new responsibilities may be added, other points of view to consider, I’d just as soon opt out.

God, give me the courage and the trust to say to you more often, “Please let me see.”

Prayer for Peace:

Revealing God, we confess to having avoided your light many times. We have turned our eyes away from opportunities and challenges. Keep us centered on peace.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Encountering Scripture as Continuing Revelation

Read and pray with the Doctrine and Covenants as continuing revelation of God’s vision. Choose a favorite section or focus on recent counsel in Sections 156–164. Read a few selected paragraphs slowly three or four times. Pause to pray for deep understanding. Pray for opening of your heart to the text. Listen as fully and openly as you can. What sense of divine presence or invitation comes? What is revealed?

Peace Covenant:

God, I will expand beyond my blind spots and do what you would have me do.          

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Comments

