Stewards of Friendship

By Martha McKain of Lamoni, Iowa, USA

Learn of me, and listen to my words; walk in the meekness of my Spirit and you shall have peace in me.  Doctrine and Covenants 18:2n

The Christmas Tea at Liberty Hall in Lamoni, Iowa, is one of the biggest events I help with during the year. It is a joy and a task to get that wonderful home ready for the holiday season. My artistic abilities are limited, so I need someone else’s expertise to help decorate. Florence has come the last few years.

One day Florence and I were putting up the last decorations. She was working at the stair railing, and I was on a stepladder at the Christmas tree. Coming down, I missed the last step. I fell and went scooting across the floor. Nothing was hurt except my pride.

I finally came to my senses and realized Florence was sitting on the floor beside me. I said, “Oh Florence, why are you sitting there? I am so embarrassed.” She said, “Don’t feel that way. I am your friend. This is where I should be!” She probably will never know how much that meant to me. Real friendship is so important to our lives and is helpful in times of need, as well as times of joy.

This episode has caused me to do some thinking about others. I have been slow to do that. Friendship is a stewardship. As Jesus reached out to others, so I need to follow him. Bless us all as we reach out to our neighbors, making friends.

Prayer for Peace:

Companion God, your presence is a blessing to us. The presence of friends blesses us. When someone is on the floor in need, we will be there with them. When we are lifted in joy, we will share that joy. We will share the peace of Jesus Christ.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Forgiveness

Sit in silence for a few minutes, releasing all thoughts. At the end of the silence, say a silent prayer of gratitude. Now, think of something you have not forgiven, perhaps an action by a family member or a member of your congregation.

As you hold that thought, breathe in deeply. With each breath, whisper “God, open my heart.” Do this “breath prayer” seven times, remembering that Jesus asks us to forgive “seventy times seven.” Throughout the day take time to practice the exercise, always asking, “God, open my heart.”

Peace Covenant:

Today, God, I will be a friend to the lonely.

Leave a comment

Comments

