Thank You, Isabella

By Norma Mercurio of Columbus, Ohio, USA

The wilderness and the dry land shall be glad, the desert shall rejoice and blossom; like the crocus it shall blossom abundantly, and rejoice with joy and singing. The glory of Lebanon shall be given to it, the majesty of Carmel and Sharon. They shall see the glory of the Lord, the majesty of our God.  Isaiah 35:1–2

As a retired elementary teacher with 36 years of experience, I am aware of the truthfulness of “A little child shall lead them.” Often I was led and taught by the many children I was privileged to teach. However, a powerful lesson also came from my granddaughter, Isabella, when she was 4.

It was Christmas, and every grandparent knows how special the holidays are when they can be shared with beloved, excited grandchildren. At the time, I lived about 150 miles north of my children, so I carefully packed my car with all the surprises I had prepared.

I left just before noon on Christmas Eve because we were going to attend church services together that evening. I was looking forward to the time and was excited about sharing the packages I had for Isabella and her little sister, Gabriela. Little did I know that waiting for me was a great gift.

I timed my arrival well, just as the children’s naps ended. I left my car, walked up to the front door, and knocked. The door flew open, and there stood Isabella with a beautiful smile and a welcoming hug. In my excitement, I asked, “Isabella, who is coming tonight?” Without hesitation she joyfully replied, “Baby Jesus!”

“You are so right, Isabella. Baby Jesus is coming tonight!”

As you might have guessed, this wasn’t the answer this humbled grandma expected. I’m sure Isabella isn’t aware of the gift she gave me that Christmas Eve, but I will never forget. Thank you, Isabella. Thank you, God.

Prayer for Peace:

Holy Parent, may we always be open to learning from little children. May we follow them on the way to peace.

Spiritual Practice for the Week: Joy of Gratitude

Stand, if possible, with arms outstretched. Imagine God filling your arms with all that you have: family, friends, and possessions. Hold out your arms until they feel tired. Now, bring your arms across your body. Place your hand over your heart and thank God for the abundance that fills your life. Sit for a time aware of that abundance. Then ask God to help you open your heart in gratitude and share freely with others in deepest gratitude.

Peace Covenant:

God, I will keep Christ at the center of my Christmas.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Blossom as the Rose ~♥~ Isaiah 35:1-2 « Gracie Creswell ~♥

Comments

