Lament… Response… Gratitude

1-21By Peggy Michael of Cantonment, Florida, USA

Make a joyful noise to the Lord, all the earth; break forth into joyous song and sing praises. Sing praises to the Lord with the lyre, with the lyre and the sound of melody. With trumpets and the sound of the horn make a joyful noise before the King, the Lord.

—Psalm 98:4–6

Lament
Lord, I hang my head in shame so you cannot see my tortured soul. How I yearn to have you lift my face and wipe it clean as I do for my child. Do you still love me when you see me…just as I am?

Response
My child, stop weeping bitterly over your foolish mistakes. Place them in my hands, and I will cast them away. I will free you to sing, to shout the news of your salvation to those who are still ensnared. Return unto me, O my people, for I yearn to forgive you…just as you are. I yearn to make you whole.

Gratitude
My burden has been lifted. Do your shoulders grow tired under the extra load, O Shepherd? If they do, I do not see you falter, nor do you rest until each cry is answered. Faithful Guardian of us all, you give so much yet take so little. How I yearn to invite you in to share the warmth of a fire and touch your bleeding wounds with my unworthy, yet forgiven, hands.

Prayer for Peace
Tender Shepherd, as the hills sing together with joy, accept our humble lament. We are thankful for your grace and love, which lighten our burden. As we have acknowledged our inner yearnings for peace in our soul, may we also acknowledge our desire to share Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice: The Jesus Prayer of Mercy
The Jesus Prayer is an ancient spiritual practice from Orthodox Christianity. It is a way of connecting with the gracious spirit of Christ as we ask to receive his mercy. The prayer comes from the scripture of the blind man calling Jesus to heal him.

Silently enter prayer and let your breath become slow and even. Greet God and then take up the prayer phrase: Lord, Jesus Christ (as you breathe in)…have mercy on me (as you breathe out). Prayerfully repeat these words for several minutes (or 40 times). Breathe the presence of Christ into your mind, heart, and body. Be transformed as you receive the compassionate, peaceful heart of Jesus.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will turn my yearnings into actions.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Loving,peaceful and compassionate lights within our world. | One Lifetime

Comments

