A Continuing Prayer

1-24By Mary Twinn of Collinsville, Illinois, USA

“Humble yourselves, and continue in prayer to him; cry to him when you are in your fields, and over all your flocks; cry to him in your houses, and over all your household, morning, midday, and evening…”

—Alma 16:219

When I was a young mother, I prayed God would grant my children all that they would ever desire, protect them from unhappiness, all pain and sorrow. Foolish! How little I understood.

Today my prayer for my children is quite different. I pray God will speak to the hearts and minds of my children and lead them through their decision making, choices, and experiences.

I pray they will find in whatever life holds for them a developing desire to know and serve God. I pray they may grow and be strengthened for the work that is theirs to do. My continuing prayer is that my children may discover God’s will in their lives and their role in Christ’s mission, thus fulfilling the purpose of their creation.

Prayer for Peace
Listening God, hear us when we pray for our families. Hear us when we pray for peace.

Spiritual Practice: Making Responsible Choices
Prayerfully seek God’s guidance in your choices. Discernment invites us to orient our lives toward God and God’s vision for us and creation. Begin by reviewing the responsibilities and opportunities in the day before you. Take these choices into prayer, asking God for wisdom and insight about what matters most.

Offer yourself to God with the prayer of Teresa of Avila: “God, what do you want of me today?” Sit prayerfully with this question as you review the day again. Be aware of images, thoughts, names, or actions that come to you. Ask for a blessing to live this day responsibly and compassionately in the spirit of Christ.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will pray morning, noon, and night.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. (PRAYERFULLY) PLAN YOUR WORK! « "Working for Christ"

Comments

