Move Out in Faith

1-25By Evelyn Herron of Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Lift up your eyes and fix them on the place beyond the horizon to which you are sent. Journey in trust, assured that the great and marvelous work is for this time and for all time.

—Doctrine and Covenants161:1a

I was driving along a freeway one evening in a community where I had lived only three months. My husband was out of town on business, and my children were with me. Suddenly something went wrong with the car, and I pulled to the side of the busy road.

The engine died, and I was unable to start the car again. We were about halfway between exits, and I didn’t know where the nearest service station was. Cars whizzed by in the darkness. Thick woods and fences separated me from the houses of a nearby subdivision.

Which way should I go for help? Who could I call? I knew only a few people in this city. I sat for several minutes, paralyzed by panic and indecision. Then I realized that my children depended on me to seek a solution. I decided on a direction, and we began walking toward one of the exits.

To my relief, I found a service station just off the freeway whose helpful owner towed my car with his truck. When he heard my plight, he was kind enough to take us home.

Sometimes we find ourselves in fearful situations—alone, with our lives broken down around us. A solution to our problems may be near. However, we must move out and seek it. God is there to guide us on our faith journey. God ensures we have the courage to determine our course and to take the first step of our journey.

Prayer for Peace
Tender Shepherd, may we have the courage to walk unknown paths with a faith that goes beyond our present vision. Calm our doubts and uncertainties and give us confidence to step boldly into the future. Give us the faith to share Christ’s peace with others who may be in fear.

Spiritual Practice: Intercessory Reflection
Sit quietly with your eyes closed as you enter intercessory reflection and prayer. Ask God to bring persons to your mind and heart who need prayer. Be open to images of the persons or spiritual insight into their needs. Listen for signals from their lives and let the depth of God’s love for them become powerful and real to you. Write, speak, or think a prayer of blessing and healing for these much-loved disciples and friends. Ask God to help you see ways to affirm and support them when you meet them in daily life.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will see with eyes of faith, where I am to go and how I can serve.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Glad it worked out OK. You should have had a cell-phone. Not very smart to walk along a highway in the dark with kids.

Comments

