Christ’s Mission Is Our Mission

1-27By Rick Maupin, Council of Twelve Apostles

“The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he has anointed me to bring good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim release to the captives and recovery of sight to the blind, to let the oppressed go free, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.” Then he began to say to them, “Today this scripture has been fulfilled in your hearing.”

—Luke 4:18–19, 21

Splat! I didn’t see it coming until it had splattered on my windshield. It was a wet sponge thrown by a young man several yards away. He and other impoverished boys in this particular country stand at traffic-light intersections, washing windshields. Motorists do not always appreciate their “marketing” technique. Desperate to earn a few pesos a day, they toss their sponges in hopes of “tagging” the windshields of generous drivers.

This young man is among the poor and oppressed spoken of in Luke 4:18. However, when that sponge hit my windshield my first thoughts were not about his plight, but about mine. Someone was invading my privacy, trying to take advantage of my good nature, and trying to get a few pesos from me.

I still have some concern with the method the young men use to secure clients. However, the greater concern is my attitude, how my first thoughts were not about the poor and oppressed. They were about me: my space, my agenda, and my needs. Being a disciple of Jesus requires me to look beyond my selfish view of splats on my windshield.

Many living in desperate conditions don’t even have a “sponge” with which to draw attention to their problem. Hidden in dark corners, those victimized by poverty and oppression often go unnoticed. If Christ’s mission is our mission, we will be aware of those people and generously share our resources to support ministries that will bring good news into their lives.

Prayer for Peace
Compassionate God, help us to engage in Christ’s mission. We would abolish poverty and end suffering with Christ as our teacher. We would share his justice and peace.

Spiritual Practice: The International Community
Find (or imagine) a globe or map of the world. Look at all the nations and find a country other than your own. Notice the geographic distance between your homeland and this one. Picture a person living there. Pray for this person. Sense God’s love connecting you just as the oceans connect the continents. Thank God for the spiritual connection you have with all of God’s people around the globe. Ask a blessing on the church as a community sharing Christ’s peace, drawing all into the family of God.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will respond to the needs of at least one impoverished person.

Leave a comment

Comments

