“…Not a Single Bit of Talent Left…”

2-5By Norma J. Cross of Independence, Missouri, USA

How beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of the messenger who announces peace, who brings good news, who announces salvation, who says to Zion, “Your God reigns.” Listen! Your sentinels lift up their voices, together they sing for joy; for in plain sight they see the return of the Lord to Zion.

—Isaiah 52:7–8

When I look at ordinary stream or lake fish, they all look the same to me. I’m sure they’re different, but I don’t notice distinguishing features or qualities. Looking at people, however, I see how different they are from one another. Each person is unique, with diverse qualities, gifts, and talents given by the Creator.

How it gives me pause to feel there’s just one me. God designed and gave me giftedness to be used for Christ’s mission. I can help others understand how loving the Creator God is.

As I ponder these specs of mine, I don’t feel I should look and wish for more, and yet I sometimes do wish for a beautiful voice to sing God’s praises. Nor must I concern myself with the gifts of others. As I listen to those who bring comfort and joy by lifting their voices in praise, I admire those who have musical gifts. Sharing those gifts inspires my compassionate response to God in worship and the community.

Jesus had his work to do here on Earth, and with love he gave us the Comforter to help us be disciples. So with his help we carry out Christ’s mission with all the gifts and talents each of us have. His blessing of peace will follow as we follow him. Then one day we can say, as the late satirist, Erma Bombeck, said, “When I stand before God at the end of my life I would hope that I would have not a single bit of talent left and could say, ‘I used everything you gave me.’”

Prayer for Peace
Thank you, God, for feet to climb mountains and uplifted voices to announce Christ’s peace. May we use all our abilities to share love and peace.

Spiritual Practice: Music for Meditation
Identify a form of music for meditation. If hearing music is not an option, choose a song you can sing or play on a musical instrument. Choose music that carries a soulful, spiritual, or healing quality for you. Sit quietly and soak in the melody and resonance. Allow healing waves of sound to pierce body, spirit, and emotions. What do you feel or see as you listen? Does the music have colors? What spiritual message comes? How are you being restored, nurtured, healed, or moved to compassionate response?

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will rejoice in the gifts of others and join them on the path of the disciple.

Leave a comment

Comments

