Working for Peace with Faith and Prayer

2-21By R. Keith Lane of Pastor Valley Station, Kentucky, USA

Those of steadfast mind you keep in peace—in peace because they trust in you.

—Isaiah 26:3

One night in Ban Me Thuot, Viet Nam, I was in the Officer’s Club, enjoying a game of bumper pool with another pilot. We heard the sound of mortars firing in the distance. Before we could leave the building for the safety of a bunker, the shells started landing. All we could do was take shelter inside the building.

As I lay in the corner, the man beside me began saying the Lord’s Prayer. It reminded me of the assurance I had felt from God that I would be OK during the year I was to spend there. Nevertheless, something told me I needed to protect myself. I saw a chair with thick, removable rubber cushions.

I pulled them over us, and shortly the building took a direct hit to the roof. Two small pieces of shrapnel hit me, one on my right hand and one on my left knee. Later, I counted 28 holes in the cushions. Thankfully, the injuries weren’t too bad, and I needed only a short visit to the infirmary.

A philosopher, Edmund Burke, said, “The only thing necessary for the triumph [of evil] is for good men to do nothing.” There have been many times I sat back and said of a given situation, “It’ll be OK, you’ll see,” and then did nothing to help. I since have learned that faith, prayer, and whatever we can do to back it up, with the blessing of God’s grace, will bring us peace.

Prayer for Peace
We trust in you, steadfast God. We have faith in your grace. We will pray unceasingly for opportunities to share the peace of Christ.

Spiritual Practice: Pursue Peace on Earth
Read and reflect on Doctrine and Covenants 161:2a. Reflect on how you can “see violence but proclaim peace…feel conflict, yet extend the hand of reconciliation…encounter broken spirits and find pathways for healing.” Prayerfully open yourself to God’s yearning for peace and the divine vision of shalom. What act of justice or peacemaking does God invite you to pursue this day? Dwell on these words of pursuit: see, proclaim, feel, extend, encounter, find.

Peace Covenant
Today, I place my trust in you, God. I will determine my actions for pursuing peace.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Thankyou for the reminder of trust but also action.

    Dianna Vanderkarr

Comments

