Insert Your Name Here______________________

2-27By Julie Conway-Sword of Gainesville, Florida, USA

And I have a work for thee, Moses, my son…And worlds without number have I created, and I also created them for mine own purposes; and by the Son I created them, which is mine Only Begotten…and there is no end to my works, neither to my words; for this is my work and my glory, to bring to pass the immortality, and eternal life…

—Doctrine and Covenants 22:4a, 21c, 23b

It was a mid-February morning—cool, crisp air for our part of the world. We walked along a St. Augustine beach. Our eyes, except for viewing an unusual shell or two, were fixed on the horizon. We rested our eyes just above the continuous waves. Suddenly, a pink crescent ray flooded our faces. Like the screeching and then suddenly silent sea gulls, we faced the water expectantly—waiting on God’s next wonderful message.

I reflected on Moses’ experience, when blessed by God’s Spirit he talked with God, face to face. And the Lord told him, “…worlds without number have I created…there is no end to my works, neither to my words…”

As we journey on life’s beaches, we, too, can experience the giant, baptismal wave of God’s wisdom, like a flood cleansing the eyes of our understanding, our commitments, our relationships, and our service in the mission of Christ.

Speaking to Moses, God said, “I have a work for thee, Moses, my son…” We can insert our own names, at any juncture of our lives and hear the Lord tell each of us, “I have a work for you, _________, my child.” Listening expectantly, we can respond to that call as we await God’s next wave of truth, Continuing Revelation, to be shared with the world.

Prayer for Peace
We are watching your miraculous creation, God, with thankfulness. We are listening, God, for your expectations of us. We await the words with which to share Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice: Encountering Scripture as Continuing Revelation
Read and pray with Doctrine and Covenants as Continuing Revelation of God’s vision for the church and creation. Choose a favorite section or focus on counsel in Sections 156–164. Read a few selected paragraphs slowly three or four times. Pause to pray for deep understanding after each reading.

Pray for the opening of your heart and emotions. Prayerfully ask to hear the phrase or word that speaks to you or touches your life. Stay with this word or phrase. What sense of divine presence or invitation comes? What is revealed?

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will contemplate your many worlds and how I can fulfill my needed part in Christ’s peace.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Comments

