What Am I Thinking?

3-6By Sara Parkin of Midland, Michigan, USA

Then your light shall break forth like the dawn, and your healing shall spring up quickly; your vindicator shall go before you, the glory of the Lord shall be your rear guard. Then you shall call, and the Lord will answer; you shall cry for help, and he will say, Here I am.

—Isaiah 58:8–9

(Part 1 of my journey with Alzheimer’s disease)

I was told I had Alzheimer’s disease, and I knew what it meant. My goal is to tell my story as long as I can. Lu Mountenay invited me to share my experience in Daily Bread, with hopes that it might encourage others who have this disease or know someone who does. You are not alone.

My God, I need to use your words so others can know you. I can’t do it alone. Lord I love you so much. You tell me what to do when I don’t want to hear. Yet you give me a way to do what needs to be done. So Lord, I will keep entering in this journal, and it will get done with your help.

Yesterday I started on my knees—I prayed for God’s will for this day. I prayed the words in my journal will make sense, and others will know God is with me in my walk with Alzheimer’s disease. It will not go away, but it can be slowed down. One day this past week, I met the doctor to find out the difference in my condition, comparing last year to now.

I am sure there were changes. I feel them, see them, hear them, laugh with them, cry with them. Yet I still have hope, joy, love, and peace on my journey with God and Alzheimer’s disease. Well, I have been blessed—I am still in the early stage. I have lost some things, but I am still alive. Hooray! Thank you to all who were praying for and with me. I love you all.

Prayer for Peace
Bless you, God, for every day of life on this Earth. Help us form words to tell our story. Help us form lives that can share Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice: Breathing God’s Compassion
Light a candle and sit quietly, reflecting on the fire and light of God. Pay attention to your breathing and let it become calmer and deeper as you focus on God’s presence. Ask God to breathe in you. Imagine each breath carrying the light of God into your lungs, bloodstream, and every cell in your body until you are filled with God’s Spirit. Now envision breathing out God’s compassion and grace each time you exhale. Pray to have the Spirit of Christ radiate from your life like the gentle flame of a candle.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will gain a new understanding of Alzheimer’s disease and how I can help those afflicted.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Dianna Vanderkarr

     /  6 March 2013

    I thank you for this prayer!!!!

    Help us form words to tell our story. Help us form lives that can share Christ’s peace.

  2. Diane Cardwell

     /  6 March 2013

    Good morning! How was your day yesterday? I went to bend and helped alunite clean Mary’s apartment. She is very weak now. She tries to get out of bed but she cannot stand so they are worried that she will fall and hurt herself. They are hoping that she passes away soon because it is time. I went on a 4 mile walk with Megan and her mother and their dog. It was the best walk I have done in a long time. That means that I didn’t stumble our walk clumsily and I made the whole 4 miles pretty strong. That made me feel good. I am about to get up and get ready to go swimming. Have an appointment in Bend today but it is at 8 o’clock – too early for us to have lunch. :-(. I love you and I hope you have a fabulous day.

Comments

