God’s Eye

3-7By Lu Mountenay of Independence, Missouri, USA

Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies? Yet not one of them is forgotten in God’s sight. But even the hairs of your head are all counted. Do not be afraid; you are of more value than many sparrows.

—Luke 12:6–7

I spent a day in the garden with the birds. I cleaned and refilled the hummingbird bottles with sugar water (one part sugar, four parts water). Before I could stand back, there was a blizzard of impatient hovering. I refilled the cardinal feeder with sunflower seeds. The shy red birds held back until I was out of the way. I topped off the sparrow and goldfinch feeder with their favorite—black thistle. On they came. They were singing. I assumed they were happy. The birds were fed. My soul was fed.

That night it began to hail. Big heavy stones pelted the skylight on my bedroom roof. I looked out the window to make sure our car was in the garage. I was glad for my own roof. Then I thought about the birds. Where do the tiny creatures go when it hails? Are tree leaves big and strong enough to protect them? Do they hide under eaves? I imagined that if a hailstone pelted a sparrow on the head, it would be like me getting hit on the head with a bowling ball. I had to trust God to protect them.

Sometimes I feel vulnerable to pelting, stinging words. There is not a helmet built that will protect my feelings. I rely on God to watch me, with the sparrow, and send me the sanctuary of the Holy Spirit, which allows me to forgive. Forgiving takes away the sting.

After an hour or so of lying awake, worrying about the birds, God assured me they would be OK. I woke up in the morning to the sound of birds singing.

Prayer for Peace
“God of the sparrow, God of the whale” we stand in awe of you. “God of the earthquake, God of the hailstorm…how does the creature cry woe?” With gratitude and faith that you are watching.

—Jaroslav J. Vajda, adapted

Spiritual Practice: Forgiveness
Sit in silence for a few minutes, releasing all thoughts. At the end of the silence, say a silent prayer of gratitude. Now, think of something you have not forgiven, perhaps an action by a family member or a member of your congregation. As you hold that thought, breathe in deeply. With each breath, whisper “God, open my heart.” Do this “breath prayer” seven times, remembering that Jesus asks us to forgive “seventy times seven.” Throughout the day take time to practice the exercise, always asking, “God, open my heart.”

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will look to the creatures of the sky and feel your loving peace.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Diane Cardwell

     /  7 March 2013

    Good morning! Jenna is coming to town! You must just be so proud of her!

Comments

