♫ Hymn of the Month: “God Whose Grace Redeems Our Story”

3-11By Barbara Howard of Independence, Missouri, USA

For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor rulers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.

—Romans 8:38–39

One joy of my life was the privilege of working with the committee that developed the previous Community of Christ hymnal, Hymns of the Saints. During that time I also had the privilege of participating in a number of women’s retreats throughout the church. I heard stories of women’s lives that strengthened my faith and helped me see how God is always with us.

I believe God’s love is luring us to goodness throughout our lives. The testimonies I heard strengthened that conviction. Those two experiences came together as I worked on “God Whose Grace Redeems Our Story.” The hymn is my response to my favorite scripture, Romans 8:38.

God, whose grace redeems our story; God, whose love has held us fast,
in our times of joy or sorrow, your forgiveness frees our past.
Written in our history’s pages are those times we’ve spent with you,
when we’ve found your Spirit working to transform our lives anew.

God, the author of this instant; God, whose voice is present tense,
help us love as you have loved us and forgive without defense.
For your mercy marks this moment, all abiding, boldly true,
plant your Spirit deep within us to transform our lives anew.

God, who calls us to the future and invites us from this place
may the language of our witness use an alphabet of grace.
Weave your healing peace and justice through the vision we pursue.
Let your Spirit work within us to transform our lives anew.

Prayer for Peace
Source of the sacred story, we listen. May we go on to share your story and our story as we share the peace of Christ.

Spiritual Practice
Contemplate this hymn as a poem (or sing it with the BEACH SPRING tune).

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Colleen Church Leonard

     /  12 March 2013

    Dear Barb, a beautiful hymn that I wished I had written, so great in its simplicity that I shall love it all my life.

  2. H.P. Fritz

     /  11 March 2013

    Barb. Thanks for a beautiful hymn. The words catch up where we have been, where we are, and where we hope to go. I am looking forward to hearing and singing these words.
    May the Peace of Christ abide with you and Richard this year.

Comments

