A Second “Last Supper”

Thursday, March 28

Three Ice Cream ConesBy Tammy Lindle of Independence, Missouri, USA

Are any among you sick? They should call for the elders of the church and have them pray over them, anointing them with oil in the name of the Lord.

— James 5:14

Maundy Thursday is the Christian feast or holy day on the Thursday before Easter. It commemorates the Last Supper of Jesus with the apostles. Good Friday follows, and then eventually Easter, when the Christian church celebrates restored life!

I’ve shared in some remarkable “last supper” experiences. I had jaw surgery that required a splint for my mouth. My mouth was wired shut for six–eight weeks. This meant only blended foods through a syringe and absolutely no chewing. Doctors cautioned not to overeat before surgery, so I picked a wonderful meal at a favorite restaurant two nights before my surgery. Some good friends joined me.

The night before surgery my congregation’s gardening group was at my house on gardening night. Following the evening’s work the members gathered in my backyard and had a circle prayer for me. Their prayer and presence brought me peace, assuring me I was not alone on this journey. Following the prayer they took me out for ice cream “one last time.” I count that last “meal” as one of the sacred events of my life.

Months later, I had to repeat the surgery. This time my mouth was “wired” shut for three months. I had a second “last meal” to consider. Selecting the last solid food to eat for three months might seem easy for some. I knew what was ahead of me following surgery. I enjoyed that dinner. I treasured the friends and family who would journey with me on this next trial. They brought peace and comfort to that “last supper.” Being set free from the splint and wires was a new-life experience for me—something to look forward to! I can’t help but wonder how Jesus felt about what lay ahead for him, following his last supper.

Prayer for Peace
Redeeming God, thank you for the gift of your Son. Thank you for those who pray for us and join us on our journeys. May we never leave anyone alone in their hour of need.

Spiritual Practice: Healing for Broken Spirits
Begin with quiet prayer. Ask God to help you discern some “sore places” in the body of Christ and in God’s creation. Become aware of people who feel separated, wounded, or left out. Reflect on or write a short journal entry of healing words to at least one person who comes to mind. Ask God for words that will touch this person’s broken spirit like healing ointment. Keep this person in your heart and prayers today and act on any ideas that come to bring blessing and wholeness.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will be awake and ready if anyone should need me.

Leave a comment

Comments

