Fear Not!

Tuesday, April 9

4-9By Gwen Simpson of Lamoni, Iowa, USA

…do not fear, for I am with you, do not be afraid, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you…

—Isaiah 41:10

“Fear not!” The message of assurance given throughout the Christmas story speaks often to my life, not just at Christmas, but throughout the year.

Our oldest granddaughter turned 13 last week. As we celebrated with her I recalled when she was 2. We lived in another state and went to visit Tori and her new baby sister, Addy. Tori was at an age of exploration, but also at an age when new experiences and new people could seem a bit scary. She invited me to go outside and see her new swing set.

We climbed down the back stairs and were about to step into the yard when I hesitated. I was looking with delight at the new signs of spring. Tori, not knowing why I stopped, thought I might be afraid because I wasn’t on my home turf. “It’s OK Grandma Gwennie, take my hand,” she assured me as she reached up and took my hand in her small one.

In the voice of this small child, God spoke to me. Tori couldn’t know of our coming move from the big city to a small town in Iowa or the multitude of transitions and uncertainties facing my life—but God did. “Fear not, Gwen.” This scripture passage became personal for me. Fill in the blank for yourself: “Fear not, ________________.”

Prayer for Peace
Gentle Shepherd, we feel you with us in our times of fear. We learn from children the meaning of trust. May we learn to trust as they do. May we learn to trust in and share the peace of Christ.

Spiritual Practice: Listening to Children
Sit in your quiet place and center your heart and mind on God’s presence. Spend several minutes asking God to bring into your awareness the names and images of children in your life. You may see their faces or hear their voice as you receive these impressions. Listen deeply to the unique gifts and needs of the children who come to mind. Offer a prayer of blessing for each child and the needs you perceive. If you feel led, you also may want to write a note or card and give a message of affirmation and love to each child.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will put my name into your scriptures, that they will be personal to me.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. It’s Easy to be Spiritual in the Spring 051713 | Mennonite Preacher

Comments

